Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 October 2017
Simply the greatest footballer ever ask Bobby Charlton when it comes to football sir bobby knows what he is talking about
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
a great book very sad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2013
As my son wrote the book and having read it a number of times and being an avid reader of football biographies , particlarly of older players , I have to be careful as not coming across a a biased father ( which I am !! ) , so I shouldn't say anymore other than make sure you read it ,as for proper football fans it's an excellent read
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
A Great read of a bril;liant young footballer killed in his prime
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2012
Author James Leighton has written an in depth biography of,possibly,the finest footballer of all-time.Although much of the book consists of the things i already knew about Edwards this book links it all together and gives the reader an indepth look at what the player was all about.Giving accounts of his early life,schoolboy football through united's youth teams and his senior football.All told in well in a flowing manner.There are stories from those who knew him and details from many of the games Edwards played in.His death is told of in a sensitive and touching way.A great book and an excellent read for any football fan or Biography reader.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2012
James Leighton's wonderful Book on Duncan Edwards is a must-read for any Manchester United fan.
"Without any past we have no present, without any present we have no future" - and so it is that any Football Club's History & Tradition in these days of Footballing multi-millionaires, WAGS, ostentatious Mansions/Cars and egomaniacal parasitic Owners now more than ever we need to be remember, seek out and remind ourselves what Football is really about. Where it all started. How it got here.
My deep love for Manchester United and the Sport of Football itself has been sorely tested by my own Club and many other Clubs in the last decade or so, and this is why reaching back into Manchester United - Football's - history is now more than ever so important if that Love for the Beautiful Game is to remain unsullied or diluted.
This fine Book maintains superbly well the tradition of Writer-Historians reaching back into what seems like another world to remind us how The Beautiful Game came to have such a moniker attached to it in the first place.
Life for people like Duncan Edwards and their class was tough back in the mid-1900's - we rarely think how good we have it by comparison - but James' book transports the reader back utterly convincingly to the period into which Duncan Edwards was born, grew up and played his way to becoming a Manchester United Player & Legend as well as an England International.
In the same way that I didn't have to be a Horse Racing fan to be captivated by Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" so it is that you don't have to be a Manchester United Fan - or even a fan of Football (though it might help!) - to enjoy James Leighton's excellent Book.
I knew much about Duncan Edwards as I had sought out information on the almost mythological status of this particular Player who died along with many other talented Team-mates and Journalists that fateful, terrible snowy night in Munich - but even so James' book enlightened & informed me hugely - partly thru his obviously diligent & exhaustive research, but also through his very apparent talents as a Writer.
EVERY Manchester United Fan - from Manchester to Mandalay - should see it as their duty as well as a labour of love to read this Book and acquaint themselves with a Man and a truly gifted Football Player with the World quite literally at his feet and by global common consent at the time was destined to become one of the Greatest Football Players OF all-time.
Manchester United Football Club transcends Football - such is it's status inside & outside the game around the World. This is in no small part due to it's History, it's Achievements, the calibre and class of it's Players & Managers, the Munich Air Disaster, it's Footballing prowess ethos & values, it's innately Dramatic modus operandi almost - and Duncan Edwards is a key key figure in all these regards.

James Leighton's book captures & shares all of this brilliantly.

Duncan Edwards - The Greatest was recently shortlisted for 2012 William Hill Sports Book Of The Year.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
DUNCAN....would have been one of the greatest players of all time...would have been 28 in 1966....in midfield...and captain...Bobby was a legend and great defender....but Duncan was brilliant any where on the pitch....died at 21......what a legacy....if only that plane had not crashed...England could have won the 62 world cup and United would have been better than Real Madrid in the 60's when they won all them european cups.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
Outstanding Footballer

Outstanding Role Model.

This excellent book shows not only Duncan's brilliance and true sportsmanship on the field of play it also tells us of his whole life from happy childhood to school days and the fantastic achievements attained at such an early age. All who contributed to this book were in some way touched by this remarkable young man. Duncan's life was well lived.

Duncan Edwards is indeed an Outstanding Role Model for all times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2017
This book was bought as a birthday present for my husband, who held Duncan Edwards as his childhood hero and was devastated by the news of his death after the Munich air crash in 1958. Since picking up the book he now finds it hard to put down, and would recommend it to anyone who remembers this football super hero.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)