Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2017
If you liked child 44, you should like this. It follows Leo's journey after the events of the first book. His relationship with his wife, his two children, and the de-stalinasation of the soviet union while he is trying to live with his previous actions make for brilliant reading.
Although there is a much bigger story going on in the background, the book focuses mostly on Leo and his family, and the trying times they go through.
I'd leave a better review but I can't wait to read the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Not quite as good as child 44 simply because there was no mystery to it. Still good though and had me hooked with the storyline based around his daughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
A brilliant book by TRS. It immerses the reader into the situation and is to thrilling becomes harder to put it down. First frate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
An absolutely thrilling book, once you start reading you can't put it down. There has also been a lot of scholarly research into the historical details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Good sequel to a better prequel. Cracking read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Enjoyed first book, but this one was not as good as it does concentrate a large amount of the book on torture. Still the writing was still a page turner and I find the cultural side of the book helps my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
If you like reading great ,stories, buy this writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
I do find it fascinating how people's opinions can be so polarised. For me this is another excellent book, with Child 44 being slightly better, but that is very very difficult to beat, and well worth reading.

The plot does move around a lot but there is still a strong reason for this, and as the story unfolds it makes sense and fully accords with the sense of paranoia and extreme measures that were necessary in Russia in the 50s. Personally I felt that all of the action added to the suspense and didn't in any way detract from it.

Seeing as quite a few people having read, and enjoyed, Child 44 didn't enjoy this book I clearly can't guarantee that you will enjoy it, but I know for sure that I couldn't put it down and enjoyed it from start to finish. I think the best thing to do is just to forget about your expectations and read it and allow Tom to take you on his journey.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
There are a great many reasons why this book is utter tosh and therefore a terrible disappointment after Child 44, probably the main one being that it is built on plot points that are risible. To take just one example, the fact that the character called Zoya goes from being violently and murderously rebellious and nihilistic to being sufficiently tamed to beread a bed-time story at the end is particularly crap, not least because from quite early on you have a terrible foreboding that the writer really might try to round things off like that.
Finishing books like this makes you feel a bit hollow - having paid the money, you make yourself overlook how lazy, cliched and inept the writing is, perhaps in the hope that at some point it's going to justify the claims that it's a global bestseller. But then you get to the end and you realise that not only have you wasted a chunk of your life on a piece of crap but, perhaps even worse, there are an awful lot of easily-pleased morons in the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here