Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
47
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2011
I finished university a year ago and WISH I had had this book to help me through those years of trying to avoid eating chicken kievs every night! The Busy Mum's Cookbook belongs on everyone's shelf... not only are the recipes easy and cost efficient but they are also utterly delicious. The chapter on meals that magic into packed lunches has reformed my working week - lentil salad with butternut squash and roasted red peppers today! Mary Gwynn shows us how easy it is to eat wonderful food cooked with high quality ingredients without costing a fortune or taking hours out of your day. But it isn't just about 30 minute meals... the lamb, cumin and aubergine stew sits in the oven for an hour and a half but makes the perfect dinner party meal - minimal preparation and plenty of time to chat with friends! This book hasn't been in my life for very long but I'm not sure how i ever got by without it... a cookbook which will inspire even the most reluctant chef to bin the frozen food and always keep a butternut squash to hand...
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
I own a lot of cookery books..... 100's, and to be honest most of them are used as food porn. Items to read, enjoy but rarely cook from. Lately I've tired of that - what I want are cookbooks that I can use everyday - practical, tasty, filled with exciting everyday food that I can serve to an 8 year old who hates veg and is scared of spice. This book fits the bill perfectly. It's filled with recipes that I want to cook ..... and cook now. I've just made the Roast Honey and Cumin Chicken on page 26 - it was a REVELATION! It marinated all afternoon ...... and was absolutely one of the most delicious things to have entered my mouth this week. Buy it. Buy it now. You won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
What a great cookbook. When I get in from work I want to eat now and not in 2 hours time after pouring over a cookbook and then hours in front of the oven. This brilliant book has given me inspiration to cook tasty, nutritious meals using local ingredients while I am busy leading a hectic life. Most of the ingredients are readily available and I dont need to plan too far ahead. Thankyou Mary for inspiring me, a definite must for all those busy people who love food but dont have time to slave over a hot stove.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
I bought this book after reading about it in the Waitrose newspaper. Apparently the author writes their recipe cards which I use a lot. I've cooked three or four of the recipes already (we all really liked the blackberry and apple cake and the Spanish chicken casserole)and they all went down really well. I'm going to buy copies for my two kids who are at university as it's the sort of food they can cook for themselves without breaking the bank or using lots of complicated ingredients. The list of 25 useful storecupboard ingredients is really handy for them too and there's good advice for feeding the family generally. A really useful and good looking book which is going to get well used in my ktichen.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
A brilliant cookery book for mums who want to cook no-nonsense recipes for the family, but who still really care about food. The recipes have nice short ingredient lists and straightforward methods, but make no mistake, they are definitely 'proper' food: roast belly pork with caramelised sweet potatoes, anyone? The other thing I love about the book is that there are tons of recipes that use only economical, seasonal ingredients, including autumn and winter dishes (blackberry and apple cake, sausage casserole etc) - so many cookery books for kids are stuffed full of exported fruit and veg. I will be using this book a lot!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
As soon as 'The Busy Mum's cookbook' arrived through the post i got cracking, apple and blackberry cake first, followed swiftly by a delicious cheesecake, then with helpful hints and great ways to jazz up your every day Fish Pie, we've been feasting on fantastic dishes for days now. Not just for Mums...students, dads and children can get involved easily too. As soon as my brother, a 26 year old businessman, had a flick through the book and a taste of the yummy Pork and Rosemary meatballs, he was ordering me to get online and get one for him too.
What a recipe book!! x
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
Well i have 7 kids, so i guess that puts me in the bracket of being a busy mom, this book is a godsend in the kitchen, we have done various recipes out of it now and loved everyone of them. Some are so simple and quick, and all so far really tasty, the kids have nearly all had clear plates each time i've used the recipes from this book, really a must have for people with busy lifestyles that still want to cook in the kitchen!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Or busy dad's, for that matter. Practical, no-nonsense recipes, laid out nicely in an easy to read and follow manner. Recipes for meals for children, teenagers, meals for one or two, baking...it's all here. Best of all, the ingredients used in the recipes are readily available and usually already in the cupboard, so no need to go traipsing off to specialty food stores for mid-week meals. Also included with the recipes are 'busy mum's lifesaver' tips such as shortcuts if you don't have an ingredient in stock, or just that it's OK to use frozen fish fillets, cubed beef stock, and off-the-shelf chutneys if you need to! A down to earth cook book in which every family will find many things they like.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
This is the cookery book I've been waiting for. It's full of really easy to understand and easy to make, delicious recipes that everyone will enjoy. It's really practical and down to earth - you can tell it's been written for real people with real lives. And every page makes you think yummmm!! If you only use one cookery book this should be the one.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I bought this book based on the reviews I'd read and I haven't been disappointed.

The recipes are made with commonly found ingredients, are easy to follow, quick to make and most importantly, very tasty. We've tried the Rough and Ready Fishcakes, Pork and Rosemary Meatballs, and Chocolate Bread and Butter pudding so far - all successful.

My only slight gripe is that not all recipes have photos, which I like in cookbooks, especially when trying to encourage my young child to choose what she'd like to make/eat.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse