Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 August 2017
Robbie's informal chummy style of writing will not be everyone's cup of tea, but I found it very easy to digest. A large portion of the book has case studies in the form of readers stories or Robbie's own adventure in trading. They highlight (and reinforce) best practices for improving your chances of good results and more importantly, in my opinion, what to avoid like the plague so that you can hold onto your hard work earned capital. My take-away is that I'm going to close my current losing positions and then spend the rest of this year paper trading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Excellent; bought this book for my 18 year old son who wanted to use his savings and start putting them into shares. This explained an uncomplicated way of safely starting out in trading and explained many complicated points in an easy to understand manner. My son now has a lovely long term plan in place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
This book is just brilliant! Author Robbie has the generosity of spirit to share all he has learned in this humorous entertaining read. He cuts out the jargon and mystery behind the confusing world of share trading, so that a complete novice like me can make sense of it all. I have much to learn but this book is an excellent starting point and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2017
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Book arrived quickly and in decent condition. Great tips for the newbie / casual trader - everything written in plain, easy to understand language.

Recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
I should have read this before I starting buying shares and saved myself a few bob. This is a clear practical guide on how you actually trade. Almost as good as sitting with Nellie. I also liked the style of writing which made it very easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Good read for people completely new to trading. easy to read, interesting and avoids jargon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
This book could have been a 100-page introduction to trading, which I would have given maybe 3.5 stars. However, the little useful information in this book is heavily diluted to nearly 400 pages by awful jokes that make you cringe, and various advertisements for products, websites, the author's seminars, and affiliate links to data services (the author gets paid a commission every time you follow one of the "special offer" links in the book).

If you're absolutely new to trading and don't know the difference between spread betting and a normal trading account, or if you want to know what level 2 data means, there might be a few bits of useful information in the book, but as I said, you have to wade through the nonsense in order to get to it.

Be warned however, that some of his advice is dangerously simplistic. For example he tells about how he asked his wife about who makes the most popular handbags, and bought shares in that company. Or he went into a shop and received bad service, and therefore shorted the stock. This kind of trading can easily lead to big losses.

I'm not exaggerating about the bad jokes; they significantly detract from the reading experience. For example, on page 78 he devotes an ENTIRE PAGE to a nonsensical "The Naked Trader Guide to Market Jargon", containing things like "Profits: what you used to make before you started share trading", and "Stock split: When your ex-wife and your lawyer split your assets equally between them". Oddly enough, there is actually no serious explanation given later for any of these terms, thus demonstrating that trying to be funny is more important to the author than actually getting useful information across.

Overall, the book is very gimmicky, is aimed at novices, and is basically a facility for him to advertise his website, his seminars, and make money from commissions he gets from you clicking on his links.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
This book really is a great introduction to the world of investing and doing so successfully. The relaxed style makes it very approachable whilst telling you what you need to know.

I bought this book after seeing it recommended many times and are definitely not disappointed I did. As someone with a reasonable level of experience, I found I was able to identify some of the common mistakes it highlights as being ones I've made and can easily relate to the investing style of the author. Hopefully I can now learn from the common pitfalls he mentions rather than having to make them myself.

The book promotes a realistic potential trading outcome. The author doesn't pretend that every share you'll buy will be a "ten bagger" and nor should you since most shares which will ever achieve that kind of growth are generally high risk. High risk shares should make up a proportion of your portfolio but never all of it. You might have the odd "ten bagger" but you'll also have a reasonable number of companies going into administration and loose all your money. Everyone's attitude to risk does of course vary so whether you take a more cautious approach to trading is up to you but regardless, this book should be helpful in avoiding too much of your capital disappearing in search of that elusive "ten bagger".

This book is not going to turn you into an expert investor overnight, that isn't what it is meant to do, but it will give you a good foundation knowledge which you can then build upon through experience and reading some of the more technical books which are likely to be too intimating to someone completely new to trading. I'd recommended this as the first book anyone buys but don't think it will be the last if you are really serious about succeeding.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)