Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2011
Well what can i say? I`ve been a fan of Stephen`s work for many years (i buy his books without looking!) Between the Hedges is yet another masterpeice! The cover shot of Micheal Dunlop at Stranocum sets the standard for the whole book! The black and white shots at the front show how the basic early races set the foundations for what we enjoy toady. The quality of the colour shots and the text will keep you looking and reading for many years to come. Stephen Davison at his best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
A superbly evocative book capturing the real spirit of the last 40 years of racing between the hedges. The authors photo's are truly impressive and have a power and prescence that demonstrate his real passion for the sport. The historic photo's capture a bygone age wonderfully and complement the modern images really well. As much a book for fans of high quality imaginative sports photography as road race nuts too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
I must say i was looking forwards to this book but far prefer Hard Roads. Seemed like the two photohounds were trying to get some glory for taking pictures and as much as i admire good photography i found there to be to much talk about themselves. I also found this book a little lacking in content and read it in one go. Not a bad book dont get me wrong and if your a photographer this may be right up your street. It's a book you'd be better off borrowing rather than buying as i wouldn't want to re read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
Absolutely amazing photogtraphy with some fantastic inside stories/insight behind the pictures.

All of Stephen's books are just brilliant.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
This is a wonderful book to own for the Motorcycle Enthusiast like myself and Husband. It was lovely to see photos of Joey Dunlop's family some of who we have met in Joey,s Bar In Ballymoney in Northern Ireland on a few visits. A good value for money book of good quality. A friend of ours ordered this book and he also liked it and enjoyed it very much. I bought this item as a present for my Husband and he really loves it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 14 August 2012
Between The Hedges is a wonderful collection photos. These are partly the work of Stephen Davidson who started taking pictures in 1987and time wise this is extended back a further 20 years or so as it also draws on the archive of Clifford McClean. They both seem to have had the knack of capturing spectacular photographs of motor cycle racing and whilst the narrative is interesting it is somewhat brief and it is the pictures which are what is so exciting about this book.

The photos are mainly taken in the authors' native Northern Ireland, at the Isle of Man TT and at the Scarborough track. Some of the earlier ones are in black and white and have a distinctly vintage feel about them. A nice aspect of this book is that the illustrations are not all of racing action, as there are also some interesting shots of motor cycle racing characters. I particularly liked the picture of John McGuiness with his replica TT winning Honda which lives under the stairs in his Scarborough home!

Clearly no attempt has been made to save on printing costs as this volume is of a very good quality and quite rightly so in order to do justice to the photographs. I imagine that any motor cycling enthusiast will be delighted to receive this as a present.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
Stephen is an extremely talented photographer and not a bad writer either, this latest creation of his is truly stunning. If you're a motorcycle race fan and especially road racing then this gives you a true taste of how brave and fearless these guys really are, a brilliant book. Congratulations Stephen, can't wait until your next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
some very good photographs and a great insight into the history and world of motorcycle road racing. but just not quite as jaw dropping as I was expecting but overall a useful addition to any enthusiasts collection. most of the road races are covered NW200, Ulster grand prix, TT and olivers mount are all included
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
Arrived in plenty of time before the estimated delivery date and in good condition as described. Was a perfect christmas present for a friend who spends alot of time following the motorbike road racing in N.Ireland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I bought this for a motorbike and TT enthusaist. He loves it, ( so did I as I thumbed through it before giving and I know nothing about bike racing) and was blown away with the photography. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)