Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 January 2011
Mrs Harris (Ada 'Arris) is a London char who cherishes the dream of owning a Dior gown and decides to do just that. The story recounts her daily encounters with her various employers and how she succeeds in raising enough money to go to Paris and buy the dress of her dreams.

Once there she succeeds in endearing herself to everyone she meets and overcomes all obstacles to return triumphant with the gown. But on her return things don't work out quite as expected.

Apart from Gallico's inability to reproduce genuine-sounding Cockney speech (he is an American after all), this is a heart-warming story and perfect for a dull grey day, or whenever you want to read something cheering and uplifting.

A word of caution: this book has also been published under the title "Mrs Harris Goes to Paris" so be careful not to buy the same story twice!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
I loved this book when I was younger, but hadn't read it for years. Then I saw a dire film version starring Angela Lansbury called, I think, Mrs Harris Goes to Paris, and was stirred to re-read the book to see if it was as lovely as I remembered. It was. Poignant, optimistic, uplifting and gentle and now, of course, with the added rose-tint of nostalgia, because Mrs Harris was so very much of her time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
This book is moving, sad, and funny all in one package. One of the best books Ive ever read, I most definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2000
is how I would describe "Flowers for Mrs Harris". If you want a quick, light read , then this is the book for you. I have read and re-read this book several times and consider it my favourite book.
Don't overlook this wonderful work of fiction.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
a most charming and delightful story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
I've read this little book so many times over the years. Mrs Ada 'Arris is an indomitable London char who conceives an ambition to own a Dior dress when she sees one hanging in a client's wardrobe. After years of scrimping and saving, she sets off to Paris with a roll of ready cash - and the House of Dior has never seen anything like her.
It's hard to believe that this book was written by a 60-year-old man because what enchants me every time is the description of the frocks: elderly Mrs Harris falls for 'Temptytion' in black velvet and a froth of cream, pink and white chiffon, tulle and lace. She is like a fairy godmother to everyone she encounters, from the accountant in love with house model Natasha, to the vendeuse who is anxious about her husband's flagging diplomatic career.
Read it and be enchanted. It's a wonderful cheer-you-up read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Bought this book for my wife as her original copy had been lost, she absolutely loves this book and is now keeping it in a safe place
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
An almost forgotten gem. Old fashioned but all the better for it. A lovely, uplifting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.