Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
112
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2008
This 264 page Watkins Shaw edition, popular for performances, is good, clearly set out and easy to read for both those new to 'Messiah' and the experienced requiring a copy of this edition.
BUT, it is thick (about 15mm), and hence relatively heavy due partly to a lengthy Preface but more so to its 33 page Appendix! It can make the arms ache when involved in a full performance, particularly when one has to stand for most of it!!
On the plus side, the current Amazon discounted price for a copy, with free p&p, is very attractive.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
I needed a clear copy of the messiah and i found one, this book is clear, easy to read, and not as heavy as some of the messiah books that i have held. It is great value for money and rare, as most of the music shops on the high street do not have this book any more. well done amazon
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2012
I bought this after being asked to sing the Bass solos in the Messiah, and figured I really should buy my own copy, rather than relying on someone elses. I bought this, as I knew that it was the same edition the Organist was playing from, and also many of the singers. It's so popular, it makes life a lot easier when finding a place "Page 153, Letter C" (or whatever), rather than having to ask the person next to you what the words are.
The book is good quality, with lots of references throughout it as to how Handel originally wrote passages, though some of them are weird and I think the alterations are good. It gives lots of different arrangements too, same piece for Soprano, Alto and Bass, so very useful for different parts.
My only criticism of this book is it can be a bit confusing with the different arrangements. Sometimes the Soprano version is followed directly by the Alto, so you have to skip a few pages for the next piece. However, you can write in the page numbers during your rehearsal, or put a little tab in or something if it bothers you that much. I think alternative arrangements should have been left to the Appendix, but each to their own.

TL:DR? Great book, good quality, know exactly where you are; rather than having to ask, go through it before the performance so you know when to skip something.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
a very reasonably priced book. The typeface is clear as is the score, making it very easy to read. Being soft-cover, it is easy to hold if performing the choral work or parts of it.
The delivery was prompt despite being an overseas delivery, and the packaging protected it so it arrived undamaged.
A very satisfied customer.
TAGS: Music, choral, classic, Handel, Messiah score.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
Watkins Shaw's final edition of Handel's Messiah was pretty well his finale as a musical editor. His work is scholarly yet accessible for Choirs (unlike Tobin's edition which appeared nearly fifty years ago and was contemporaneous with Watkins Shaw's first edition!) The volume presented by Novello is very legible, though somewhat heavy in the hand owing to a larger page size. This latter, however, allows for much clearer print, appreciated by older Choristers. This edition looks like becoming a 'standard' in much the way Ebenezer Prout's longstanding edition was for so long.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
Although fond of the Ebenezer Prout edition as I knew that from when I was very young, this edition is much clearer, rhythms cleared up and beautifully typeset. With Mozart's additions to the harmonies removed, it is also a lot clearer for the accompanist, and indeed for both soloist and chorus to hear where they fit in to the music.

This should be your default copy of Messiah.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2009
I ordered this score at the request of the BBC and you can tell why they stipulated this particular edition. It's easy to assimilate, clearly printed and well bound ... what more could this old baritone need.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Came quickly. Clear print on ultra white paper although taken from a former edition but with some modern notation (e.g. a crochet rest as a 'squiggle' rather than a 'backward 7'). Somewhat heavy though compared with older editions hence only 4 stars, but I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
Having booked up to sing a "Messiah from Scratch" at the Royal Albert Hall, I was having probs.finding the vocal score. Problem solved by Amazon as per usual!
Ordered one day got required book next day - job done, price good, delivery spot on!! That's how business should run, here in the U.K. !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
Purchased in order to participate in "Messiah From Scratch", an event which takes place at the Albert Hall at the end of November.
Delivered promptly and in spite of its very low price, this manuscript is virtually as new.

Now is the time to start practising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£9.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)