Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2015
Anyone who wants to know China should read this book. An insider's guide to the world's second largest economy for those who are wish to engage
or engaging with China. A must-read for every global CEO.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
I am studying China and the UK at the moment at college and I found this book a really useful primer on how the two countries' economies might engage. It's quite different from a typical 'text-book' style of book, and all the better for it. I was particularly interested in how Germany seems to have adapted to the Chinese century better than us here in Britain - plus ca change!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
It's unusual to find a book written by a British politician that shows anything other than a superficial understanding of China, and what its rise means for us (in Britain). This book goes deeper than the usual commentary on day to day or quarter by quarter economic indicators, probably reflecting the author's visits to China, and his contacts with Chinese people, including politicians. Worth reading if you;re interested in the challenge that China's rise sets for Britain and other western economies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
There are a number of books which examine the changing face of China. But this book goes further and challenges the reader to think how the UK should change to benefit of both our citizens and that of China. Well worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
This book confronts us with the changing global geography of science and innovation and charts how we should work in partnership with China as it transitions from its troubled history into something new -- in our own interests as well as theirs. It is a rare attempt by a member of Parliament to reach out beyond the narrow confines of British politics to try to understand why China is different, how it is changing, and to envisage a global future. China's trajectory will impact us all whether we like it or not, and we need to engage constructively. Liam Byrne shows how we can come to terms with this. Well worth reading.

Richard Pascoe, Executive Director, Great Britain China Centre
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
This an important book that everyone should read if they want to know how we will navigate our future global relationships. A surprisingly fluid author who uses his impressive political nous to write a fascinating book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
A good read. Real insight into how the centre of gravity in the world is moving - seemingly inexorably - eastwards. Well written and researched. #recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
It is laudable to take China seriously. However, to create a false sense of optimism based on a little knowledge can only be regarded as dangerous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
The Baron Mandelson of Foy Seal of Approval gives Liam Byrne's book the kiss of death. Pseudo-intellectual nonsense from one of the leading has-beens of the Blair era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)