Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 November 2016
Absolutely brilliant book for all as it explains why the world needs bees and easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
An interesting and absorbing book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2008
I read this wonderful book in one very long sitting; I really could not stop once I started. Having grown up surrounded, in my immediate family, by the 1950's acute nature-awareness of the early Soil Association days of Bob Waller and Harold Horne et al, it was like deja vu to me.
The authors have been very disciplined in producing a really worthwhile book; it is almost perfectly objective, and therefore above cheap criticism. They have worked immensely hard to source a huge amount of sound material, and they have taken the trouble to understand it thoroughly before using it in their book. And the mystery at issue is no less than how terrifyingly detached from truth we are becoming, and how little we now understand our own misery and poverty of life in the midst of all our illusion of ease; how deprived of reality we have already become.
Read it! In the morning, the evening, on the train, in the bath, but read it. It is more real than most other stuff you will find on printed paper or glowing on a monitor any day of the year.
11 Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2009
Alison Benjamin is a journalist who, together with her partner Brian McCallum, is also (like me) an amateur beekeeper. (I see that she has also written an introductory book on beekeeping.) Over the last year or two, fueled by the crisis that is hitting honey bee populations, particularly in the USA but also in the UK and Europe, public interest in honey bees has soared. This book feeds off that interest, and does so very well. It is written in a popular journalistic style that can be appreciated by anyone who is interested in the subject, which should be all of us. No background knowledge of bees or beekeeping is required. The authors themselves are neither scientists nor professional beekeepers, but have done their homework thoroughly, consulting a wide variety of professionals. They deal with a number of hazards facing today's bees, and a number of suggestions for alleviating (I doubt whether they would go so far as to say solving) the problem. For example, the role of other pollenating insects is explored briefly. There are no facile statements of the problem, and no proposed silver bullet; just a thorough exploration of the issues from a variety of angles. The first edition of this book came out in 2008, just two years after Colony Collapse Disorder was first identified in the USA, and it has been updated for 2009, so is very up-to-date as I write this review. Anyone interested in green issues, beekeeper or not, will learn a lot from it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
First of all, let me address the huge pink elephant in the room. Yes, this book looks boring as hell. You should have seen the look on the cashiers face when I brought it! I then had several family members taking the mickey, however, despite how it seems this book was very interesting and informative. In my opinion everyone should read this book, and books like it, because then maybe more people would understand what's going on in the world and stop being so damn selfish and make an effort to preserve the planet we live on, the air we breath and protect the animals that share the Earth with us. Most people don't realise - even I didn't - how the lack of bees would effect the planet.  

I'll admit parts of this book were a bit repetitive and at times it seemed like just a long list of dates, however, I never lost interest, mainly because I was desperate to find out if they find a solution in the end, which I should have guessed since bumblebees are currently on the endangered list and other species are under threat. This book was published in 2008, therefore, I don't really know all that much about any progress since then but I'll definitely be looking into it. Unfortunately, the authors haven't written an up-to-date sequel, but if they ever do I'll be sure to snap it up.    

As I've already said this is a very inspiring book, especially the last couple of chapters and anyone who's interested in conservation should definitely read it. Hopefully this book will change the minds of people who think human actions don't harm the environment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2008
If climate change doesn't get you, the disappearance of the honeybee will - this is the rather gloomy message of Alison Benjamin and Brian McCallum's well researched and engagingly written new book on Colony Collapse Disorder - a honeybee `plague' which has already killed millions of bees worldwide. Some 90 commercial crops owe their continued existence to the pollination services provided free of charge by the honeybee so its fair to say that A World Without Bees is an important book. For it to succeed in its mission it has to put the fear of God into us without losing us to jargon. It does so admirably, taking us through the rather complicated but interesting world of honeybee health, politics and economics and delivering us to a conclusion which lays the blame firmly on our own shoulders. Time to start talking about bee rights? Could be.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
In 2008 Society Guardian editor Alison Benjamin and her Geography teacher partner Brian McCallum, who keep bees as a hobby, wrote the book A World Without Bees.

A highly fluid text, the shocking truth on bees, their health and the commercial beekeeping occupation is easily read. Benjamin and McCallum cover all corners of the beekeeping globe, and all the problems, innovations, opinions and possible solutions to the flight of the bee from their homes in the latest epidemic - Colony Collapse Disorder.

In the book, the writers show the ancient and continuing importance of bees to humans, exemplified in their inclusion of such prominent people's words on the fuzzy fellows and cultures, such as Aristotle, the Egyptians, Pliny the Elder, the Aztecs, Anglo-Saxon feudal lords, medieval Russia and Britain, Christianity and the Pilgrim Fathers to name but a few.

The co-authors also show that the bee and its hierarchy have been used to justify and explain feudalism, parliamentary rule, the French Revolution and industrialisation. (The last being one reason why we've chosen to start a project on trying to save bees since it is the symbol of Manchester, where industrialisation began, and where you can see bees in our neo-Gothic town hall and on our bollards.)

But they also get down to the nitty-gritty, interviewing scientists and beekeepers from all over the world and all walks of life, looking at the evidence and trying to evaluate what is happening. We start in California's almond orchards that stretch millions of miles across (and today happens to be Almond Day in the USA, coincidentally). We learn that beekeepers 'truck' (to use the Americanism) their bee colonies across vast stretches of land to pollinate these trees, and then onto blueberries and pumpkins and other such areas so the crop is bountiful. They also get paid a pretty penny for the hard work of their bees.

But the transportation, the use of chemical pesticides, fungicides on the plants and the bees themselves, global warming with frequent change in weather, monoculture, the lack of fallowing and crop rotation, loss of habitat, urbanisation, pollution, GM crops, malnutririon, mites and viruses and overworking the bees that we put them through are all possible reasons why the bees are on the decline. And all these reasons are chased by the beekeeping duo.

Bees provide us with food to feed ourselves and our animals through pollination, to feed herbivores and the animals that feast on them through pollination, to clothe us and provide wax for our cars and make-up, to give us live-saving ingredients for cancer treatments and heart treatments; the bee is the heartbeat of the world, and if the bee were to vanish than the world will go into acute myocardial infarction. Or collapse, to be frank. This book highlights the need for bees, not just for our economies, not just for our food and clothing and medicines, but the importance of the Earth's life itself.

A truly fascinating read. You'll be buzzing about this book for a long time after reading it. The authors even have a blog which you can visit: [...] .

If you're into bees, saving the planet or even economics, this book will provide the right information for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
`A World Without Bees' is a fascinating and timely book exploring the possible reasons behind the massive decline of the western honeybee over recent years. Every spring beekeepers are opening their overwintered hives and finding that a huge percentage of them have only the queen and a handful of dead bees left inside. Where have the rest of the bees gone - and what is causing this mass destruction, now known as `Colony Collapse Disorder' or CCD?

Benjamin and McCallum, amateur beekeepers with a keen interest in their charges, take the reader on a whistle-stop tour of the potential offenders and key theories in the CCD mystery, offering up a devastating menu of the ways in which humanity is slowly destroying one of the most important creatures on the planet. They also offer a comprehensive look at bee viruses, pests and pathogens that could be contributing to their downfall, and the ways in which beekeepers and scientists are attempting to fight back. Without honeybees, agriculture would collapse, and many of the foods and other natural products that we take for granted, including fruits and vegetables, meat, dairy products and cotton, would become far harder to produce and thus much more rare and expensive. And yet we continue to bombard our master pollinators with pesticides and fungicides, truck them long distances throughout the year, and work them harder than ever before, thus denying them the proper nutrition, time to rest and strength to fight off disease that they need to survive.

This is definitely an important book, and well worth reading. It's very accessible, though occasionally repetitive, and gives a good overview of the current bee populations, issues and research from various countries across the globe. There is a note of hope by the end - that all is not lost and that the honeybee can be saved - but I would have liked to have seen a more extensive account of what the world would be like without honeybee products and pollination services (it is the title of the book, after all) and a longer section on the most up-to-date research, potential solutions and ways to help. Most of these are covered very quickly at the end, in a kind of updated add-on to the first edition, which felt a bit rushed and not particularly satisfying. But hey, read it anyway; it's a big issue and not one that most people probably think about all that much. Our bees deserve better!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
As a novice but recently trained beekeeper, I bought this after seeing the documentary on the same topic, rather expecting not to learn anything new but I was pleasantly surprised and found it a fascinating read. It goes much deeper into the historical significance of bees and discusses the issues of bee loss and Colony Collapse Disorder very clearly. It's easy to follow and understand but very enlightening and thought-provoking - a good read all round and suitable for anyone interested in bees, our planet's future and the security of our food production, whether or not you intend to keep bees yourself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
`A World Without Bees` takes an in-depth look into why honeybees all over the world are disappearing and what that might mean for us. It doesn't make entertaining reading - the message is too bleak, and at times the text itself it dense, littered with acronyms for bee viruses and scientific names for parasites.

The book is divided into 11 chapters. The first looks at man's use of honeybees over thousands of years. The second investigates why the honeybee is so important to us, looking beyond honey to its role in pollination. Chapter 3 looks at the effects that selective breeding has on honeybee populations.

Chapters 4 to 9 look at CCD (Colony Collapse Disorder, the phenomenon of bees simply disappearing from their hives with no apparent warning) and some of its possible causes - including pesticides, GM crops, pests and diseases, environmental pollution and climate change and the industrialization of bee-keeping.

Chapters 10 & 11 examine the likelihood that honeybees will become extinct in our lifetime, the consequences that would follow, and what we might do to stop that happening.

Although many characters in the honeybee world (bee-keepers, scientists, farmers, chemical companies and governments) have their own opinion on what is effecting the honeybees, there is little consensus on what may be causing CCD. There's not even a global consensus that CCD exists. Research is fragmented and under-funded and strongly influenced by politics.

What unfolds in the book is an environment that is seriously detrimental to Western honeybees (Apis mellifera). We've transported them across the world, exposing them to viruses and parasites they have no resistance against. We've inbred them to the point where they just don't have the genetic diversity to cope with adversity. They don't have robust mechanisms to deal with toxicity, and so the modern world with its pollution and widespread pesticide use is not a healthy place for them.

In the US, honeybees are trucked across the country to provide pollination services to huge farms of one crop (California's almond plantations being the largest) after another - spending long days on the road and never having a chance for a holiday. The increased industrialization of agriculture and urbanization means that bees diets are becoming more limited, and they are suffering nutritional stress. And we're adding GM pollen to their diets. Climate change is affecting bees too, with different flowering times for plant species and changing weather conditions that affect foraging bees.

A must-read for anyone who wants to understand what's happening to the bees, and what it means for us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)