Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 25 December 2014
Easier than I expected for a Guardian crossword. Can finish most of them within 40 mins
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2013
Boughtas a Christmas present for my mum who by the way is 88. She thinks it is fantastic and certainly tests her brain power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2013
I love it because it will give me hours of entertainment when I feel like doing a crossword and can't find a newspaper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2015
Breakfast will never be the same. Certainly keeps the old brain ticking over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2010
Purely personally I see no point in crosswords that include words of which few have heard. Some of the clues have some wit and use a lot of ambiguity but what destroys it for me is that once you know how many obscure terms are sprinkled in, you can 'give up' on difficult ones when you could possibly have solved them. Primarily it is between you and the puzzle so having to resort to abstruse research works to find answers is like asking someone else to solve it for you; you might as well look at the solution in the back of the book! No problem with a dictionery if all you are doing is checking spelling or precise meaning etc. but beyond that step forward university challengers! Having said all that, Bunthorne's ingenuity is evident throughout this book.
44 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2009
I've worked through the puzzles by Rufus and Gordius. Both compilers have provided some clever and amusing clues which can provide hours, in fact days, of entertainment. I preferred those by Rufus. They are a little easier and often witty. Some of those by Gordius have obscure solutions -- rare words, place names and so on -- which it seems to me require rather specialist knowledge.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2009
As a devotee of the Guardian's cryptic crossword for nearly 20 years, I find their weekly selection nearly always runs the gamut between gently engaging and fiendishly impenetrable. Sitting nearer to the gentle side of the equation is Rufus. In my experience, he's reasonably faithful to the classic Ximenean rules and is rarely so obscure that you have to go running to Google or the dictionary. Perfect for enthusiasts who want an enjoyable romp rather than a teeth-grinding hour of agony.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)