Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
Love these! Tricky but so satisfying when you get one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
A stimulating volume with a rich variety of puzzle set by different compilers. The clues are reasonably oblique and are challenging enough for anyone that is neither Einstein nor Spongebob's Patrick. Recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
A very mixed bag, some great (Paul, Araucaria of course) some pretty good, some absolutely dismal (Gemini, Enigmatist, the guess-what-I'm-thinking variety), some downright sloppy. When a compiler describes Ontario as a Canadian 'city', it's time to pack up. I bought this mainly for Araucaria's puzzles, which continued to delight to the end. Bunthorne, Rufus and Shed have their moments too. Guardian's identification of the compilers is a good idea. I never quite got to the point of skipping any but did give up on trying to figure out how on earth the clue worked towards the answer with one or two setters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
Plenty of variety from different compilers.Some clues a bit outdated,but no complaints-it's an old collection!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
If you enjoy cryptic crosswords then this is the book for you. I wholeheartedly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
I love Auracaria crosswords and this has some of his in addition to other regular Guardian contributors. For a cryptic crossword 'nut' this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Great fun. Some puzzles are beyond my ability, but wonderful mental exercises, nevertheless. Good variety of setters from the paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
As with the previous one this book was just what we wanted to test our ingenuity and keep the little grey cells working.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
Bought as a Christmas present. Looks good and will be enjoyed by an avid crossword fan. I hope she will enjoy very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
Guardian cryptic crosswords are a source of great joy : challenging, fair and humerous. This book has a wide range of setters with subtly different styles. Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)