Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13

on 31 December 2014
This was the one film I vowed never to watch....until a certain respected film critic (and by the accounts I can find, like the writer and director, a 'man of faith') lavished praise on this film. So I took the plunge and watched the film some 40 years+ after its initial release. It's fair to say that I loved every minute of it- such a credit that even now this film on a few occasions literally had me on the edge of my seat. As another reviewer has so rightly said, Kermode's passion for the film is evident throughout. It really is an utterly fascinating read. Well researched, great photography and worth the second edition alone for the highly personal transcript between Blatty and Friedkin- how I wish more screenwriters and directors would have such a close and candid relationship. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2016
Being a fan of Kermode's various other books and tv documentaries, I would have been very surprised if I hadn't enjoyed this 2nd edition of his Exorcist work.
Kermode is not only perfectly knowledgeable of the history of the film but offers a pacey and entertaining thesis on it's, supposedly, troubled making; whether that be the difficulties from clashes between the director and writer or the number of deaths and mishaps during filming. You never feel preached-at (no pun intended), and makes for perfect companion piece to both the film and the Fear of God documentary. Great for both the dedicated film buff and the casual reader alike. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
Brilliant analysis of The Exorcist movie from a fan whose passion surpasses even my own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2014
If you need a guide to The scariest film ever then let Mark Kermode tell you a few things about an Extraordinary visual experience. The Exorcist has been one of the most controversial movies since it's release in 1973. There are a lot of rumours that went along with the movie, but Mark who adores this movie, takes a look at all of them many that were hearsay. There are also photo stills from the movie and if you've seen the movie or read the book and still have some questions-read this and it should answer most of them.Interesting if you enjoyed the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2009
Mark Kermode's enthusiasm for the film is infectious. I don't think it's the best film ever made, like Mr Kermode, but it's an excellent given a brilliant appraisal here. A superb addition to the excellent BFI book series on great films.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 1999
This is a fantastic book about the Exorcist film. Anyone who loves the film (like I do) should buy this book. It tells about the actual possession case that inspired the book and the movie, the making of the movie and the plot, plus discusses deleted scenes and interesting anecdotes about the movie from the director and the actors. Also, if you like this you should definitely rent or buy the new video re-release. It contains a new documentary and the original trailers. It is even better seen in letterbox. Together, the movie and this book would make a great gift for someone who likes "The Exorcist."
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2010
'The Exorcist' is a great film that is made even greater when watched again after reading Mark Kermode's critique. The interviews with director Wiiliam Friedkin, writer/producer Willam Peter Blatty and surviving cast members (including a touching meeting between Linda Blair and Kermode as a fan) are very revealing and take you into the mindset of the movie. The extensive research by Mark Kermode delving into the 'subliminal images' portrayed in and the story behind the movie are fascinating. The deep analysis provided in this edition will enhance your experience of 'The Exorcist' and further confirm it's place as a classic modern movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 1999
one of the most scariest books ever written. About a possesed girl named regan. The sick twisted things that that demond makes here do. Such as stab herself with a cross. Until the mother takes this case out of her hands and into two preists to perform an exorcism on her. It all ends in a blood bath. By Mark Kermode comes the most scariest book ever, THE EXORCIST
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
Mr. Kermode, there is one thing missing from your good book, what Linda Ruth Williams thinks of your Hitchcockian obssession with a film in which a young girl lewdly abuses religious artefacts and spews forth obscenities. Is not your wife a specialist in psychoanalysis 'nd stuff?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Very good insightful book would highly recommend to anyone who has a interest in the film brought for hubby he loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)