Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2017
Makes theory fun. I've use all grades
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I bought this book for my 7yr old son, to introduce him to musical theory from a young age in the hope that it will help to improve his piano playing. He absolutely loves this book and even asks to do extra pages, which is amazing when normally the idea of extra homework sends him running! It really is helping him as an accompaniment to his piano lessons and we'll be keen to buy the next book when he's ready for it. His piano teacher has also been impressed with the book so far.
As a self taught pianist, who couldn't read music but decided to give it a go with my son, i've really found this book helpful and have learnt so much. I never imagined i'd be able to pick up musical theory but these books, really make it fun and interesting with little quizzes and puzzles to help you on your way.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
I bought this to have a look at for a pupil who was struggling with grade 1 theory. The lay out of this makes it very difficult to use. There is far too much information on each page. The illustrations are fussy, dense and distracting. The games and puzzles are far more complex than they need to be to get the information across. On the crucial area of rhythm there is hardly any more detail than in the grade 1 theory book.

I'm going back to inventing my own games, and then straight in to the ABRSM grade 1 book, which is much more accessible than this (except for piano pupils- very good Ng books work well in conjunction with the keyboard.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
This is a great book of music puzzles, it is definitely not a textbook which is why my daughter loves it. It covers a much wider scope than 'traditional' theory books. Good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Bought for a 10 yr old who just took up the clarinet this year. It's not too babyish, yet still fun enough not to be too 'old'. It's simple with fun puzzles in so he learns about the theory of music without it being a chore. Not too wordy either- just perfect. I'd say it was suitable for a child aged 8-12.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Tried this with a bright eleven year old. Too gimmicky and the questions aren't always worded in a way which is easy to understand. Personally I prefer the slightly more structured tutor books which also encourage practical work such as composition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
we were recommended this by out clarinet teacher and she uses it with my daughter as part of her homework. She finds it interesting and fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Seems to be good enough. 😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse