Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
62
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£33.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2016
If you want to know what the Bible really teaches - and different points of view on the more controversial parts, this is great. This is from a fairly Reformed, Evangelical standpoint, and comes in the line of Calvin's Institutes, BB Warefield, Louis Berkhof, JI Packer, Lloyd Jones and all the other staunch defenders of the truth!! There is a simpler, shorter, cheaper version of this available by Grudem too if you prefer. If this is too "heavy", try "Know the Truth" by Bruce Milne or any book published by IVP (Inter-Varsity Press)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
If you are interested in Bible study, just buy it! Covers all the important themes and subjects. You learn something in every chapter. Very truthful with the Bible and with a very honest thinking about all subjects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Very very good highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
Grudem has managed to write a systematic theology which is easily readable without compromising on content, that expresses the authors opinion and reasons without being dogmatic (while presenting fairly alternative views) and which is both practical and scholarly. In short, the author has achieved what every good systematic theology should aim for. The writer comes from a reformed perspective, and his material relating to the charismatic gifts is welcome in a modern theology, marking it out from the alternatives. Like many others have found, I suspect this will become my first point of reference for reviewing theological debates and standpoints.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2008
A reasonably detailed study, but presented in an easily understood format. Grudem examines all the key doctrines, considering different viewpoints and forming well reasoned conclusions, which he supports with numerous scripture references. A must have item for the bookshelf of clergy and laypeople who wish to gain an understanding of the main theology issues.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
This book is a real acquisition for my bookcase. It is very systematic (see title) and very complete. Sometimes after Sunday service I consult this book to deepen my insight in a special topic. But this is also a book of strong opinions. If you do not agree you will be irritated. If you notice the nuances you will judge it as a goldmine.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
This impressive tome was a Father's Day gift from my wife and since receiving it neither I nor my wife have been able to put it down.

If you want an accessible introduction to systematic theology that excites you to learn more there is no better publication. Grudem has a way of communicating the gravity and wonder of the Word in layman's language (difficult theological terms are explained clearly as you go along).

It's been noted in other reviews that the author is strong in his opinions but I feel this is unfair (and perhaps a sign of our post-modern thinking), he merely states his own belief without apology whilst graciously explaining the counter-perspective with its strengths as well as its weaknesses.

You will never regret buying this book, it will give you a balanced view of scripture in every important doctrine you can imagine (and several you probably didn't know existed).

Wonderful!

Dean Foley
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
There are dozens of books on theology, some so esoteric they are hard to understand.
This book gets to the root of the question, in simple Anglo-Saxon, in as concise a manner as appropriate.
Grudem, whilst giving his own view, also allows other interpretations.

This book is ideal for ordinary Christians, for Theological students, and for Lay Ministers.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I find this tome useful and very informative on the whole spectrum of Biblical Theology: coming from an Evangelical perspective. However, the text and headings are rather difficult to follow. The glossary at the end of the book, could be more simply laid out, and definitions of Theological Terms, need to be simplified. Overall, value for money and covers a vast area of Theology in one volume.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Very useful introductory book. It is thick but the subjects were arranged in systematic (well, it should, seeing its name!) order, and the topics were well categorised, I thought. Overall, I found it to be a good and useful biblical based book on Christian doctrine and one which I have found very helpful on many occasions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)