Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
63
4.5 out of 5 stars
Systematic theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£44.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 August 2013
Very useful introductory book. It is thick but the subjects were arranged in systematic (well, it should, seeing its name!) order, and the topics were well categorised, I thought. Overall, I found it to be a good and useful biblical based book on Christian doctrine and one which I have found very helpful on many occasions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2008
An excellent textbook of evangelical theology. Wayne Grudem explains the doctrines of the Christian faith in a way that is highly readable and comprehensible. Complicated, technical terms are kept down to a minimum, and the author writes in a way that is relevant for people today.
He begins each chapter with a definition of the doctrine that is being considered. He then goes on to open up the doctrine in a clear and structured fashion, showing how it finds its place in Scripture. There are then questions for personal application within the church today. Each chapter then ends with a relevant hymn, which is suitable for meditation or worship.
Many will find themselves not agreeing with Grudem on a number of points. For instance, Grudem leans towards views such as believers baptism and classic pre-millennialism. Further, his views on the baptism of the Holy Spirit may be at odds with the views of a number of Christians of a Reformed persuasion. Nevertheless, as I read, I found Grudem to be very fair and gracious in dealing with viewpoints, which he himself was not personally in agreement with. Many Christians could learn from this attitude.
At the end of the book, there are a number of appendices, consisting of historic Christian confessions (e.g. The Thirty-Nine Articles, The Westminster Confession of Faith), Scripture memory passages, relevant bibliography for extended reading and contemporary worship songs. Here we have a valuable resource book for Christians in the twenty-first century. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2008
I bought Grudems Systematic Theology in my second year of Theology in Leeds University. While I was there I found Grudems book a great resource to counter many of the arguments of the Liberal and Secular Theologians. What is also signicant is that Grudem does not merly set out what the Bible teaches in regard to theology but rather he presents to the reader the living God. Hence, one comes away not just being more informed about doctrine but he gets you to consider carefully the God who is self revealing and makes the point that, without knowing the God of the Bible all theology is as straw. So I cannot recommend this book enough and now that I have completed my degree in theology it remains a book of great value. You really get your money's worth!
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Great work. Well explained. Good analogies and great references. Thank you so much, you really fast forwarded our study else it would have taken ages for us to learn even in part... Every penny worth 1000 times... Thank you and God bless u and your team.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
This is an excellent resource if you want to know what the Bible says as a whole about all sorts of things. I use it regularly.
The title and hefty size can seem intellectual and intimidating, but Grudem is a very accessible writer. Faithful solid thorough Bible work.
A the end of each chapter are great life-application questions and hymns to help the reader respond with the heart (not just head)
God has gifted this man greatly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2001
Grundem has written a Christian masterpiece. An extremely honest, heart/soul searching address of Christian theological issues. His honest approach and fair representation of the various views on subjects gives you confidence that this writer is doing all he can to help the reader through the confusing labyrinth of theology. He presents his arguments fairly, concisely and in an easy manner. He gives equal attention to opposing views too - incredibly unbiased. A must for the serious reader who wants to search the richness of God's Word.
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
A well presented book that will last for years and not outdate quickly. A highly commendable book for any serious student and searcher of the truth
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
As it says in the title. This book is simple to read, Grudem has obviously realised that not everyone has a doctorate in theology and so has written this book for more people, making these academic studies more available for day to day simple minded folk (myself included).
I think he gives a superb overview of differing arguments and viewpoints on different topics. He obviously outlines his point and draws his conclusions. Making arguments against the oposing points. This is interesting and I agree with him on all his points apart from 3 (baptism in the Holy Spirit, Apostles and Eschatology). Which in a book of 1200+ pages and covering the entire scope of Christianity is an impressive feat. I think Wayne Grudem is possibly one of the best evangelical spokesmen and academics continually putting forward the important elements of Christianity but also stepping back on the not-so-important topics which should not cause division among the body of Christ.
Praise God for Wayne and this book.
Sola Deo gloria (glory to God alone).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
great bye also review availible podcast from i tunes.
Easy to read and understand
recomend to anyone who want to understande scripture a little more, just remember this is a MANs opinions not Gods so always try and test what you read, mistakes happen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Works fine, quality product. would recommend it .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. . . .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here