Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8

on 21 June 2014
This book is an ideal Irish Crochet book for the more traditionalist. It explains about the crochet as well as contains patterns but the reader must appreciate the age it was written in. Very interesting and contains stage by stage photos which is excellent , the photos are in black and white but I did not expect any colour in this vintage book. I would have given it five stars for the information and interest and motifs but to me it is ideally used in conjunction with a modern book if you want to crochet other than motifs from it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Very interesting and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2016
Delighted with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2013
Thank you for your speedy delivery. Bought this book for my mother & she really likes it. It gives clear & concise detail on how to do each of the crochet patterns.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 June 2011
If you have been put off by the complexities of Irish crochet, then be put off no more. This book gives an interesting history of Irish Crochet and then goes onto the exciting stuff- the projects! Althougha little bit of basic crochet knowledge is helpful, I still found the intructions fairly easy to follow. What was the biggest help for me in comparison to other Irish Crochet books, was that the author gives precise details as to how many strands of padding cord you need for each project and what lengths. She also gives information how to join the padding cord, when to join it and when to let it drop. The motifs, once you get the hang of it, are easy to follow. I would try experimenting with thicker wool at 4ply (baby wieght), double knit (worsted) or Aran. You get some amazing effects with thicker yarn which complete tobe large enough to use as throws or Afghans. Once you move to the smaller lace wieght yarn or crochet cotton (2 and 3ply gives good results)you get some real heirloom pieces.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2008
This is a nice book, it does what it says in the title - it is a book of Irish crochet motifs.

The whole book is black and white.

Each motif is broken down with a series of photographs to help along the way. It uses UK stitch notation rather than US notation and there are some abbreviations that seem peculiar to Irish crochet that take some getting used to, in fact the abbreviation p/c is never explicitly explained but I believe it to mean "Padding Cord".

The motifs included in this pattern book are;
Nine looped Flower
Half Scroll
Dahlia
4 different roses
needle point motif
flower
shamrock
three ring shamrock
shamrock scroll
wheel
horseshoe
cross
shamrock centre motif
fern
sunflower
2 different shamrock & rose sprays
wild rose spray
shamrock spray
rose and shamrock flower
marigold
square piece
rose motif for trimming
mitred fine lace trimming
2 different vandyke mitres

There is also a helpful guide to filling and creating a garment with the motifs.

I would have given 5 stars but for the confusion caused by some of the notation used, but after a bit of reading it becomes clearer.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2011
I have just started learning Clones Lace and was recommended this book. I am working my way through the motifs and find the explanations quite clear and the photograpy is so good tha if you have doubts the illustrations are a great help
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2014
great patterns
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)