Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2014
Walking the Somme. I have yet to walk one of the many routes in this guide but reading the planned routes stirs memories of our first visit to the Picardy area of northern France. Literally 90 minutes from Calais this guide vividly reminds us of our first visit (our second is planned and arranged for May 2014). We will, on our visit, attempt one or two of this guide's walks. From our experience the landscape is undulating rather than hilly and full of reminders of the horror that took place 100 years ago. Our first visit was life-changing for us, in the fact that we were embarrassed by our ignorance. This guide will further our knowledge of the area and its battlefields. First World War information in this publication, regarding the Somme, is second to none.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
The Somme is a large and complex multi-phase battle zone, and introducing clarity is hard. We used this alongside the Holts' guide. On balance we preferred that for its structure, but Reed's did have complimentary detail, and would serve perfectly well if it was all you had.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
Great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Only managed two walks but the descriptions and the "stories" told made for excellent thought provoking walks.I do however think that the "maps"could be a little clearer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Bought book after visiting th Somme with a WW1 battlefield tour with intention of planning a walking tour in the area in the future, would certainly recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Great tool for visiting the Somme. It certainly helped discover sites and areas that the myriad of other Somme books I've bought couldn't.
Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
In depth, easy to read, one of the very best guides to be available with enough military background to make a Somme Battlefield trip
meaningful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Excellent guide to the Somme battlefields and the monuments. Highly recommended having recently visited the area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
we will certainly benefit from it when we walk the somme in france next year. Good clear information and maps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
Bought the book as going on battlefields tour. Found it a very helpful guide. Highly recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)