Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 17 April 2014
I bought this book on return a short trip to the Ypres battlefield. It rained all the time we were there in February so it was possible to get some sort of feel of what that muddy, dark, featureless landscape must have been like. We took each site as it was shown by our guide - who was using this book. And just tried to imagine how awful it must have been - and how many brave young men were slaughtered. On return, it was then possible to follow and understand in more detail what we had seen. The 5 star ratings from so many reviewers are well merited
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
If planning to visit Belgium and Ypres, then this book is a must read. Full of historical facts, directions to all the battlefield locations and museums. A good size to leave in the car's glove compartment. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2017
Fantastic guide to Ypres WW1 battles. I had this before in book form but I left it in the old Regent Hotel !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2013
The map that comes with this book is worth the price alone, and is essential in planning routes to see the battlefields and memorials around Ypres. You can either choose your own itinerary, or choose one of the 3 itineraries set out in the book - and then follow them on the map which contains craters, bunkers, memorials, museums and cemeteries of the Great War.

Note that isn't a book to get just before any visit. You need to get it well in advance in order to absorb the amount of information it offers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2013
This book was recommended to me by our local historian and frequent visitor/guide to Ypres. It proved invaluable in providing essential background reading to understanding the causes of WW1, the importance of the Allies deterring the enemy in this area and the methods of warfare at the time. As a result, we benefited even more from our visit to the highly recommended In Flanders Field Museum in Ypres and the guided trip to the major battle sites and war graves.

We will be visiting the Somme later this month and will purchase Major and Mrs Holt's guide to that area.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2017
Very detailed itineraries. Personally it only contained a few useful things in relation to the activities of my WW1 relatives. The map was very useful so it was worth the purchase just for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
This is an excellent publication if you are intending to visit the Ypres Salient.

Tip - Read it before you go and get planning in advance of the trip! We read it when we were there and found that we missed things because we were rushing and had not planned properly.

So much information about all the places to visit, the Holt's certainly have done their homework.

New things going on for 2014-2018 so will probably need an updated version to keep up with the changes. The Talbot House for instance did not close for lunch!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
The 'bible' of Battlefield guides - had the paper copy for years now added the Kindle - brilliant work from the Holt's - should get knighted for services to the military, archaeological history and tourism!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2012
This is an excellent guide to an area stuffed full of interest and detail. Some of the descriptions are brief but this is after all a guide, not an exhaustive directory. I read it after a visit to the salient and it was informative and brought everything together nicely. The authors clearly know their stuff and in any genre I have seldom found a better general guide. Only slightly niggling is the pre-occupation with Old Etonians who fought or died. I say this not as a socialist but as one also fortunate to have had an education at one of the major public schools, but at times in this book it seems as if it is only worth mentioning someone if they were educated at Eton or that the authors are in thrall to that establishment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2015
If you are planning a visit to the Somme/Ypres area then this book with its clear and simple area map is brilliant. A "must read" before you go and to take with you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)