Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 July 2017
Very detailed book, containing 3 interesting itineraries. For my person use it only contained a few items of interest in relation to my WW1 ancestors. The map was the most useful so it was worth the purchase just for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2013
A good detailed book of this area but I have to say that on the second day of using it, it fell apart and is just now being replaced - full marks to amazon. Second replacement as first had missing pages. Some cafes now closed and up for sale so using this guide at times left us searching for eateries. Notwithstanding all this, a very good read with fine detail to enable a better understanding of the Somme Battlefields. Map sometimes difficult to follow as it is sometimes difficult to align it with a normal road map especially in some of the more isolated sites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2015
We visited The Somme area of France as complete battlefield novices, but fortunately, we were armed (excuse the pun) with this book. We followed itinerary one which took us round all the places other people had recommended we visit - it is detailed and concise, and you can learn as little or as much as you like (with the help of the notes) for each place you visit. The driving instructions are easy to follow (we also had a road map of the area which really helped), and the notes on each place give you insight in to the history of its memorial. It is a humbling experience to visit the memorials of the First World War, and this book is an excellent and invaluable guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2014
If you buy a Holt book you know that you will get almost everything you need to understand the complex areas of the Wars. The books are well printed and will withstand hard holiday use.
The Battlefield Guides are the real first "go to" when seeking information about the relevant areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
The 'bible' of Battlefield guides - had the paper copy for years now added the Kindle - brilliant work from the Holt's - should get knighted for services to the military, archaeological history and tourism!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2017
As described and as stated and delivered on time, what more can you ask for
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
If planning to visit France and the Somme, then this book is a must read. Full of historical facts, directions to all the battlefield locations and museums. A good size to leave in the car's glove compartment. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2012
As someone seeking information about a past relative who fought in WW1 I found this volume a valuable help in locating and getting to the most relevant sites for my search and researches. The accompanying map is useful but limited providing all the information since the splitting up into 3 maps can be confusing, however this is a small concern and did not detract from the usefulness of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2016
a good clear guide. ideal for the first time traveller to the somme or as a reference for the more experienced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2013
The Somme is a big and complex battle zone, and any guide would struggle with a logical progression through it. The Holts' highly-regarded guides have, I guess, been added to over the years. Before a new edition is issued, I suggest a really top-notch consultatnt editor is hired to think about structure and layout. But even so proved vital when hunting down gandfather's war in the summer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)