Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Excellent continuaion of the English Gentleman series. A bit dated, now but nostalgia for what, in some respects, may have been better days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
Since I'm not an Englishman, but I have many Englsh friends, gentlemen, of course, I recognice everything, as well the English, as the Swedish gentleman. And my two(!) black labradors !
There is only one thing that's wrong with this book.
It's to short, I have to ration the reading, no more than two chapters each night, because it's a book you don't want to finish!
Very funny, and lot's of understatements!
Buy it, you will not regret it!
Doc
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
I had a copy of this years ago and remembered it fondly (after having lent it out and not had it returned). Replaced and read again it lived up to the memory and is I believe a true classic recording, wittily and so true, the ways of a certain 'osaurs generation that is now, thankfully perhaps, all but extinct. It is not a book of 'how to be' more a study of particular and peculiar habits and behaviours; nobody should really want to be anything very much like the creature portrayed and concern for self-improvement, manners, etiquette or 'getting-on' play little part in the ways the beasts in question perform.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2001
What ho Well how do English Gentleman act on holiday? Well try reading this book first, It will help you in what to pack and how to act. This is the 2nd book that I have read written by Douglas Sutherland, Like all of Sutherland's book it is fun and light to read. Pack it with the beach ball and sun tan oil.
Good read
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2007
To really appreciate this book you will need to live the life of a true gentleman, or know how the other half live!

Great book with lots of short snippets. Great if you don't have a lot of time for long chapters.

The book looks at the funny side of day to day life of the gentleman and has lots of great anecdotes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
This almost pocket size book provides a tongue in cheek insight to the life of the upper class English gent. It isn't a book you would read from cover to cover but makes a great coffee table book that will make you laugh out loud. I purchased it as a gift and both the recipient and I were very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Very satisfied for this quick and easy purchase. The book is as described and the delivery took only a few days. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Makes a nice gift for Gentlefolk, have bought the book since it was first published several decades ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
Still haven't received this - received TWO copies of English Gentlemen instead - dissatisfied !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)