Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2009
Unlike the Tom Ford book this heavily picture orientated production has many years and Ralph Lauren styles to call upon. His extraordinary ability to take the past and it's references and re-invent them with his team is terrific. Like Tom Ford this is as much about styling as design but in the case of Ralph Lauren it is an extraordinary achievement over many years. Orientalism, Navajo, British County, Beaton Romantic, Preppy, Sporty, Old School, Hollywood Golden Age, how many stories has he successfully interpreted through clothing, photography and interiors? This book is a joy to refresh the memory of the range of styles the Ralph Lauren team have offered over the years and always in the most impeccable quality.
Those unconvinced by the style and manner of the house will remain so, but to have created this legendary brand, label and house is a great achievement. This book beautifully captures and encapsulates it.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
My husband has hardly put this book down since I bought it. Needless to say he's pleased with the book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 November 2015
Ralph Lauren is an American that I would call more of the ultimate stylist rather than a fashion designer, but others may disagree. He heads a global multibillion-dollar fashion enterprise and lifestyle brand. As of January 2015, his wealth is estimated to be $8 billion, which makes Ralph Lauren the 155th richest person in the world. Wow!

He briefly worked for Brooks Brothers as a sales assistant before leaving to become a salesman for a tie company. He left to establish his own tie company where he successfully sold his ties to small shops in New York, but his breakthrough was selling them to Neiman Marcus. In 1967, with the financial backing of clothing manufacturer Norman Hilton, Lauren opened his first store where he also sold ties of his own design, under the label "Polo".

In 1970, he released a line of women's suits that were tailored in a classic men's style. In 1972 he unveiled his first Ralph Lauren collection for women. He was also contracted in 1974 to provide clothing for the Robert Redford, Mia Farrow movie The Great Gatsby. Of course since then he has dressed many 'A' list celebrities for red carpet events and for other films.

By 2007 Lauren had over 35 boutiques in the United States alone, along with many others around the world. He is not known for a single signature look, but rather for his sweeping dreams of American and European living: the polo-shirted athletes charging down the fields, the beaches of Montauk, the cowboy in the wilderness. Over the course of his career, the images of luxury, adventure, and beauty have come to define American and European style, and elevate it far beyond the reaches of fashion. He has recreated the past by making it relevant, creating looks for today and tomorrow.

In this visually stunning work, Lauren speaks about his life and invites readers to see his sources of inspiration. We see the designer home(s) and family and we learn about the man. Lauren displays his most important, most iconic, and favourite work, hand-picked from hundreds of runway shows, collections, and advertising campaigns. Many of these images are taken by major fashion photographers. The book also contains a detailed chronology of Lauren's career and achievements, including line launches, landmark collections, philanthropic achievements, and awards.

This is truly a unique fashion monograph, a personal expression of the man, and a rare peek into the creator of one of America's most accomplished fashion and lifestyle brands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
I got this for christmas and I'm so excited! I've always been a huge fan of RL's design and clothes, now I can follow his creations and sources through hundreds of beautiful pictures taken by famous artists such as Bruce Weber for example. This book proves: RL is much more than just a company with a polo player. P.S. The book is HUGE! It weighs a ton ;). Love it, nuff said ...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Ralph Lauren has captivated my imagination in this gorgeously presented book. It is going to make the best Christmas present for my mum. Amazon was fabulous as always, the estimated delivery date was Thursday, but got it on Monday! Incredible. Thanks again Amazon!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
A real must have for any person who has an interest in Ralph Lauren.As I have been wearing his clothes and I have home items as well,I found the book to be a real trip down memory lane to when I started with a Ralph Lauren Polo shirt back in 1983.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
A great read about the fantastic man, his life and clothes. A must for Ralph Lauren lovers and a superb coffee table book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
If you love fashion then you will love this book. Inspiration on every page, a true legend of fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
Fantastic book great imagery and wonderful presentation. a must must get. delivery was excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Super book, for those who are interested in the history not only the product they are wearing..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)