Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2005
They were masters of the darkness, searching through eternity for a mistress of the light ...
The stranger silently summoned her from across the continents, across the seas. He whispered of eternal torment, of endless hunger ... of dark, dangerous desires. And somehow American surgeon Shea O'Halloran could feel his anguish, sense his haunting aloneness, and she ached to feel hom, to heal herself.
Drawn to the far Carpathian mountains, Shea found herself a ravaged, raving man, a being like no other. And she trembled. For in his burning eyes, his icy heart, she recognised the beloved stranger who'd already become part of her. This imperious Carpathian male had compelled Shea to his side. But was she to be his healer ... or his prey? His victim ... or his mate? Was he luring her into madness ... or would his dark desire make her whole?
Another fantastic read from a proven author. The "Dark" series is one which many people follow and seems to always achieve high praise from fellow reviewers. Well worth the time to read and is a story which will be read again, and again by many.
We await with anticipation the next installment in the "Dark" series.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 November 2009
Having read every single Carpathian story by Christine Feehan so far (Dark Slayer being the latest) I am now enjoying the whole series in order for the second time, and one I've looked forward to most is Dark Desire.

When we first met Jacques in Dark Prince he came accross as one of the more light-hearted and young-at-heart characters, with no vampire hunting experience. Despite loosing eomotion and colour, he could still show humour in some things, which was what made him so endearing.

Howevr in Dark Desire, which is approximately 23 years later (calculated by the death of his sister which happened around the same time his lifemate was born, and references to Raven's time as a Carpathian) much has happened to him to change him from the man he was. He has studied and grown in power, which is exceptional given his lineage. But he has been betrayed, captured, brutally tortured and buried alive, and is living a nightmare. His only focus through his pain is on one woman, he doesn't know who she is but can connect to her and judges her by what he see's. Using thier telepathic ability to draw humans to them he calls for her and she comes from across oceans, drawn inexplicably to the Carpathian Mountains. She is Shea O'Halloran, a brilliant surgeon and with a strong will and much compassion, despite the awful upbringing she endured.

This story is so much more intense than Dark Prince, the threat to the couple coming from human and vampire alike. The love scenes are hot and steamy. Jacques character, even in his damaged state is just as desireable as Mikhail was in Dark Prince, and probably more endeering because we knew who he was before and we feel for what he has endured.

This book and Jacques are among my top five Carpathian males/stories, probably coming second only to Gregori (Dark Magic) and even with Lucian (Dark Guardian)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2004
This was the first novel I've read from the Dark Series, and it got me hooked. The chemistry that the leading characters shared is very contagious. The author can really make you feel the feelings that the characters have. Along the story, we are presented with other Carpatians that have already appeared in the first novel and make the story line even more interesting. The story behind the Carpatians is very sad, they are on the verge of extinction, unless they can find their true lifemate that can make them feel emotion again. The plot is not the basic romance guideline, we have romance, action, companionship, love scenes and I must say that the author is capable of taking you the Carpatian Mountains with her descriptions.
If you love romance novels try this Series and you won't be disapointed.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2003
Like the reader from Scotland, this was my first Carpathian novel and I'm hooked. However, although it inspired me to read all the others, I have to say that this is the best of the series. It works well as a stand alone novel, although I defy anyone not to want to read more. It has quickly become a favourite, must-have and I thoroughly recommend it to every one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
This book follows on from Dark Prince and it is just as good. This story is set a few years after, which in their lifetime is nothing just a blink of an eye.
Jacque has been buried alive for 7 years. His family think he is dead. You can't recognise him now from what he was like in Dark Prince. Shea his lifemate comes to the Carpathian Mountains to save him. She can feel an eveil presence around her when no one else can. The vampire wants who to destroy him is Shae's father. He lost his lifemate, Shae's mother 7 years previously and that is when he turned vowing to destroy the family who caused her death.
This book is another great from a great author. Buy this book and the rest in the series you won't be disapointed with it.
The next in the series is Dark Gold and this one is set in America.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 1999
This is the second book of the 'Dark' series,the first, 'Dark Prince' sold out, was re-printed and sold out again, if it comes back onto Amazon, order it immediately. This Book 'Dark Desire' is the story of Jacques and his search for his life mate, Jacques is NOT a vampire, but another species which needs blood to survive, they do not kill their prey, just borrow abit of blood, But after a time, some of them loose hope of finding their lifemates and 'turn' becoming true vampires who kill while taking blood and get a kick out of it. The Carpathians must hunt and kill these vampires to protect both humans and themselves. This is the story of Jacques, who is very very close to turning... now its your turn to read this book. Order it, you won't be sorry.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
This was my first "Carpathian" novel, in fact my first by Christine Feehan and I was absolutely hooked. This, the story of Jacques is the second in this "Dark" series and I have since read the whole lot! All the heroes are wonderful but I have a very soft spot for Jacques and Shea. What torment they both suffered and what absolute need each had for the other. The scene when Jacques was protecting Shea from his brother Mikhail, his friend Byron and "The Dark One" Gregori (all of whom he had forgotten throughout 7 years of torture) was spellbinding. What writing! Violence and love scenes both equally enthralling. Would love to see babies featuring in future Carpathian novels, - give Gregori and Savannah (Dark Magic) triplet girls and let him deal with that!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2007
the only character that really jumped out at me that I wanted to read about was Gregori. I bought this sequel, in the hopes that this was who it was about. Let me tell you, it didn't matter. Shea and Jacques were great! The story line kept you deeply involved and thinking about what was going to happen the whole time. Even though you don't hear much about them in the first book, you really get involved with them in this one. Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2000
I read Dark Desire before Dark Prince and actually preferred Dark Daesire Jacques is one of the most captivating heros I've ever come across. It may be a little violent in the first few chapters, but after all this is a Vampire Romance. A brilliant book where the heroine actually manages to balance the hero's charisma. I hope Christine Feehan keeps on writing about her Carpathians because I for one am enthralled!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
This is the second book in Christine Feehan's Dark Series, and is a fantastic read, characters are well defined, and talk about girl power! The heroine (Shea) is a very independent, intelligent, caring, courageous girl. The hero, Jaques has undergone some fantastic character building since we last saw him in Dark Prince. A definate one to keep. And I am eagerly waiting the rest of the books in the series ...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse