Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2017
Bought this product for Kindle. Really love it, gripping story line
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
A vicious mugging proves difficult for successful lawyer Craig Bellman to recover from until he discovers an abandoned mansion while on holiday with his wife. Valhalla was built by a notorious playboy gambler who disappeared in the 1930s. Bellman is entranced by the old house, but of course there is more to it than meets the eye.

Masterton is an accomplished writer in a number of genres, which in my opinion makes him a better horror writer as his novels are good stories with a horror theme rather than being pulpy horror. Not that there is anything wrong with pulpy horror, I love it! Masterton is no Stephen King, and doesn't want or try to be, but he has a style and imagination that blends horror with a good story perfectly.

The House That Jack Built is another winner from one of my favourite authors. It's a good twist on the haunted house story, set against the Bellman's struggle to come to terms with what happened to Craig. As is the norm for Masterton, it's well written and easy to read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2003
Craig Bellman is a well-off New York lawyer. One night, Craig is mugged and leaves the scene permanently injured. His wife, Effie, decides it is best for him to get away from New York for a while to recover and get his self-asteem back. One day, while driving along a backroad in the countryside, Craig and Effie come across a house called Valhalla, once owned by an extremely rich gambler and womaniser Jack Belias. Craig is strangely drawn to the house and is determined to see it. When he does see it, it is ruined. But it does not dampen Craigs hopes and decides to buy and restore it, using all of his and his wifes money and selling his law firm to do so. Effie notices changes in Craig and realises that it is due to the house. With the help of the local spiritualist, Pepper Moriarty, she find out the houses secrets and also Jack Belias'. She then understands that if she doesn't do something soon, she will lose her husband forever. A terrifying page-turner from the true master of horror.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 1999
After a devastating mugging Craig and Effie escape to the countryside trying to restore Craig's masculinity and self esteem. While driving thru the back roads they come across a shambling ruin of a mansion once owned by a notorious gambler and womanizer. Craig is irresistibly drawn to this decrepit dwelling while every sense and intuition warns Effie away from it. With help from the village psychic and her handyman son they discover the true nature of this hellish home. Another mesmerizing tale of the occult from the TRUE master of horror.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2003
An excellently written book, so easy to read...but make sure you're not alone in the house before reading, because it'll have you scared witless!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
I read a few of Graham Mastertons books as a teen and when I purchased my Kindle recently downloaded Mirror which I loved.

Im not so sure on this book. In principal the story is good. I love a haunted house and the plot was good in that respect. Jack Belias - what a foul creature. But it was the two main characters, The Bellmans, I coudnt care for. Immediatey I felt no warmth for them and there lies the problem. Craig Bellman suffers a horrendous attack, which made my eyes water but yet I coudnt care less nor did I when he met his fate. His wife was a simpering, whiny woman who should of stood up to him.

So it was not the story that didnt appeal rather the character's. But I wont let this put me off- Im planning to read Famiy Portrait next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Another great book from this author,this house is not your average one ,as it has secrets built in to it,one of the rooms has a floor that spins around,and the new owners of this now derelict house start to hear noises which frightens them,Mr and Mrs Bellman who bought the house after her husband had been brutally attacked had to call a spiritualist in to deal with the threatening vibrations inside the house,and and also the agonised sobbing they hear too,but they were soon to find out that the previous owner Jack Belias who was a very notorious gambler is back to haunt them for good,so if you enjoy being scared you will love this book,I know I did.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2000
This book does not come anywhere close to Black Angel or Walkers by the same author but it is a very good read and does have its gruesome moments. Graham Masterton, in my opinion is one of the finest horror writers in existence and this book is a fantastic addition to his works. This is a must for any Masterton fan. Why are his books so hard to find?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
This is the second time I have read this book. It is probably the best book that Graham Masterton has ever written. I was hooked from the very first page and could not wait to finish it but then when I did I wanted to read it again just in case I'd missed any.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.99
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here