Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 20 October 2015
Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
WEll written, a very good and informative book on improvisation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2013
Plenty of good tips and tricks in this book - with many contributers from the world of improvisation and theatre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2013
Being new to improvisation and not being able to start improv lessons this season, this book is a great way to know a lot more about improv. Between the history of improv, the typical ways of getting into the right state of mind and where improv is leading, I think it is hard to make a better overview in one book.

I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't know what improv is, but also to anyone who does since you probably have a more critical eye to it and can probably gain some actual knowledge and experience. I only saw it as an informative book as I am completely new to either improv of theater for that matter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2014
either for begginers of people who already have experience and are looking at a broader view on Improv Theatre :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2008
To be honest, I haven't read the whole book yet, it has not been out for very long and I only, finally, got hold of it a couple of days ago, and will be writing a more comprehensive review once I have actually finished it and absorbed it's lessons. So far though, having just finished reading the very first chapter of the 'how to improvise' section, this book has made me extremely happy, it is well written, and is much more than just a rehashing of Keith Johnstone's Impro. Keith's work and theories are often cited and, since Impro is such a phenomenal book, that can only be a good thing. But what these authors do very well is actually TEACH YOU HOW TO IMPROVISE! I have found what little i have read to be pleasantly accessible and effective, possibly life altering. In just two days I have made the change from being an uptight, easily bored and anti-social being to the open, creative, constantly fascinated, smiley sort (who no longer believes that the word 'content' was invented by marketers trying to push positive psychology and it's products down our throats). In two days, and without being sick in my hands. I mention this only because the ability to act confidently and without sublimating is essential to the wannabe improviser. Ahem. Informative, good layout and entertaining examples, if your even remotely interested in this fascinating medium/storytelling/self improvement to name but a few, this book is definitely worth reading. From what I have read so far anyway, it works and I cant wait to finish it and write a 'proper' review.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2012
Initially picked this up and browsed in a bookstore. It stuck in my head so I purchased on Amazon a few days later. Really interesting stuff which I've used a lot in my job in sales. Helps with confidence, listening and responding and, frankly, blagging (or story telling as the authors call it.) Still have no desire to try improv though!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2008
This book is wonderfully practical, without omitting the philosophy of Improv that makes it the exciting, living art form that it is. Salinsky and Frances-White have brought the pages of their manual alive with anecdotes from their vast experience that prove the power of narrative and make this book not only informative but entertaining in its own right. The personalities of the writers themselves as well as the practitioners they interview leap out of the pages in glorious 3D. This is not your average "how to" book. The authors have been very generous in sharing their experience. There is not only a section on "How to Improvise" where they have given the reader their own Level One syllabus, but a very useful section on how to make money from this gloriously ephemeral art. They are generously providing the reader, whether a teacher or student of improv, with the werewithal to make a living doing the thing they love. This is a book on Improv written with the spirit of Improv that should go on the shelf alongside the improv classics, Impro, Impro for Storytellers and Truth in Comedy - superb!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2010
An excellent guide to the art of improvised theatre set in an accessible & informative format the text gives tips & techniques on all aspects of performing as well as running workshops.
A very useful tool I have referred to many times for my group.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2009
Having done the Spon Shop courses and seen their shows, I can concur with the other reviewers that this book makes a compelling case for impro, it works both as a manual and also as an account of the impro movement. The authors' enthusiasm is palpable and they convey their engagement with the subject matter in a convincing and effective way. And it's funny. And practical.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)