Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2010
This is an excellent instruction book on alla prima painting. The techniques are explained very clearly and it is also the only book I have ever come across to deal solely with alla prima in all its forms.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
A bit disappointed. Bit of a wordy, academic text. The authors own work is to my mind mediocre and not inspiring. After a few attempts at trying to find value the book has been consigned to the not that great shelf.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2012
Written by a consumate artist of many years experience and who learned from the bes, this book puts so much of the knowledge into words that it is hard to recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
Packet with useful information on the art of oil painting with beautiful illustrations and step by step demonstrations. A top quality publication Excellent value.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
The book is packed with useful info/tips and very well illustrated!! Real joy to have it or to buy it as a gift for an art student or for already established artist.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Finished reading this book and it has some brilliant information on alla prima techniques, I recommended this for self trained painters like myself, as anyone who has gone to art school should know this. It's true the artist who has written the books work isnt very inspiring, but the book has examples from old masters and some modern artists also which in my opinion makes up for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
It wasn't quite what I was looking for. I would have been better with a step by step painting manual as I'm largely self taught. Should have taken note of the reviews.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
A beautifully presented book, which I love to own. Informative and practicle guide to the techniques of Alla Prima painting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Was bought as gift, he seems to liked .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
This book contains all the information required to get on with ala prima painting. It also has wonderful ilistations of various free and loose styles , a must for anybody interested in oil panting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse