Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
60
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2016
I recently did a Foundation college course in Art and Design and they didn't want to (or couldn't) teach me drawing or painting skills as, apparently, they are not required to be an artist these days! I knew I needed some proper teaching to improve and this book has a lot of the lessons I was looking for. Initially I thought it looked a bit "dry" but I am happily reading it through and recognising how it will help me with both painting and drawing with improved perspective, composition, distance and accuracy. A good investment for anyone who has come through modern art teaching methods and realises they have missed out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
When I ordered this book I was looking for a advanced tuition in classical drawing. There are many books which tell you how to draw a tree or a house, or an eye, but Janette Aristides goes way beyond that and teaches the reader how to approach drawing any subject in the classical way by representing accurately what is really there. The subject can be anything from a twig to a full life drawing, the techniques discussed here show how learning the diciplines and applying them using the materials in a professional way produce drawings of a very high standard. By taking the time to practice what Juliette Aristides teaches, the student can gain not only the skills, but the confidence to tackle any subject. This is definitely one of the best of many art books I have, and recommend it to anyone wanting to take their drawing to a higher level. The instructional CD is especially useful, giving practical demonstrations which bring to life the contents of each chapter
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Very informative and helpful. Excellent book for someone striving to improve their drawing skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
Really good, both highly advanced and easy to understand. I commend it to you. It has a DVD as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
I'm very impressed with this book. I have Juliette Aristides' earlier book, which is interesting, but here she has gone from strength to stength. The text is clear and takes the reader through the ideas behind the 'atelier' movement, the notion that there is validity in a 'return' to nineteenth century ideas of academy drawing. The book is also a 'how to' and it does step by step analysis very well. There are plenty of examples of both unfinished and highly finished drawings that illustrate the points made. The structure of the book involves breaking drawing down into elements in order to learn aspects that then come together, so copying from the masters (an atelier basic) has a chapter, with later chapters on measuring, line and form. In this sense there is some of the 'orthodox' material one would expect here, but it is all strongly slanted towards accuracy, precision and encouraging the development of a thorough knowledge of what is being looked at. Aristides is convincing because her passion for the type of drawing she advocates is evident and, especially in the accompanying video, the care and craftsmanship she shows are highly impressive - and the same goes for the other artists in the video. In fact, good though the book is it is the free DVD that really raises this to an exceptional piece of work. Aristides herself is excellent, giving beautifully judged demonstrations that are also very well filmed. Her description of the procedure of starting from large, block shapes and refining to detail is impeccably delineated, and of course this, or some variant of it, is absolutely the way to go about making a representationl image, and arguably the best way to go about making any image. In this sense this book/DVD goes beyond the specialist field of academic drawing and I see no reason why it may not become an important addition to the canon of significant 'how to' books from Ruskin to Nicolaides. I can't give it higher praise than that!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
This particular publication + DVD works very well, sadly the author has been bitten by the 'success' bug and is turning out less solid books ..... so my advice is buy this one, however, leave the others on the shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Lovely book but came with damaged corners of front cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
I've spent the last few hours looking through this book and watching the DVD that came with it. For over 40 years I've been drawing, painting and carving sculptures as a serious hobbie. My book collection exceeds 100. I've attended invaluable classes given by Bernard Dunstan and Rachel Clark to name a few. This book adds to those rich experiences. It goes to the top of my list. I wish I could have got something like it long ago. It has few peers, in my view. Beatifully written. Helpful insights. Amazing illustrations. All presented in a hardback cover that is a joy to hold. Anyone interested in the absorbing power of drawing, anyone wishing to develop their ability to see and experience visual sensitivity, anyone looking for clear quidance will find much in this book and DVD to enjoy. A great big thank you to Juliette Aristes (especially), her publishers and conributors who made this gem possible. I treasure it.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2012
This is a fine quality book that teaches, in considerable depth, the techniques of classical drawing much as they would have been practised in the studios of the old academic masters. The book is about 50-50 beautiful photographic reproductions and intelligent text. The illustrations include drawings by old masters, works by some contemporary artists who draw in an adapted classical style, and some quite beautiful drawings by Juliette Aristides herself, which harmonize well and don't look out of place. She exhibits her work, both paintings and drawings, in various galleries in California.

Juliette Aristides is a very serious, absolutely dedicated artist, whose own training took place over a long 8 years in various ateliers and schools under the direction of several US artists working in the classical style, including Myron Barnstone, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Art, the Nelson Shanks studio, National Academy of Design, with personal tuition from Jacob Collins and Carlos Madrid. Juliette Aristides also studied at the Richard Lack (1928-2009) Atelier which is part of an atelier historical lineage tracing itself back through RH Ives Gammell, to William Mcgregor Paxton, to Jean-Leon Gerome, to Paul Delaroche, and so back to the famous French academic artist, Jaques-Louis David (1748-1825). This lineage gives some idea of the tradition in which Juliette Aristides writes her book. Taking the best methods and practices from each of her teachers she has fused them together and evolved her own ideal method of training aspiring artists, which is probably of a much higher quality than is to be found in most contemporary schools of art. Juliette presently teaches at the Gage Academy of Art in Seattle, US. and she is associated with the Art Renewal Centre, a movement which attempts to promote and teach the inspiration, the values, as well as the techniques of the old masters, which she passionately believes are still relevant today in the 21st century. She believes that anyone can become an accomplished artist if they are dedicated enough to study, work hard, and practice for the necessary hours each day, and even for some years. Art is essentially a number of skills which can be taught and acquired. This book teaches those essential drawing skills.

Based fundamentally on the love of beauty, there are chapters which demonstrate the principles of line drawing, observation of and learning from nature, the sight-size method, measurement and perspective, crafting contour, establishing rhythm, simplifying geometric form, the illusion of depth, creating pattern, value composition, shadow and relative brightness, focal point, tonal balance, light and shade, half-tones, reflected light, highlights, and finally unifying the drawing. Juliette combines principles and techniques with personal stories and reminiscences of her own training which make the 200 page book a delightful and inspiring read.

The book includes, in a pocket on the back cover, a free hour+ fine quality DVD of the author demonstrating drawing techniques in art schools in Florence, Italy, which brings the text vividly to life.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
mising dvd with the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)