Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2015
One of the nicest art books I've ever had. Big colour plates, and each painting is accompanied by a short commentary from Wyeth regarding his memory of the painting or the day, or why he chose a subject or any manner of wonderful snippets which enlighten the casual reader as to his method, thought process, life, EVERYTHING. So much nicer than a straight autobiography. After all a painter's paintings ARE his life in a way, and this boo makes the most of that and is a sheer delight. So glad I bought this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
a very beautiful book, what makes it really interesting is that the artist describes his memories or reasons for painting or the things he was interested in, rather than an art critic. the reason for painting something can be quite trivial and critics tend to over egg the pudding. when you know what he was looking for it gives the painting/ watercolour/ drawing a more intense meaning. I just wish the book had been twice as long. this is an astonishing painter and this book shows some of the depth of his work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Not being a man of many words I would like to say very simply that this is a beautifully produced book that will lead any painter interested in growth on an intense journey.
Wyeth's meticulous yet sparing use of materials, his colour palate, the marriage of realism with vast abstract shapes and spaces... I run out of superlatives!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Well written biographical artbook - I wanted to learn more about Andrew Wyeth without paying a fortune for a 'folio' edition. This book is an excellent introduction to the man and his work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Highly recommended - specifically if looking to learn more about this amazingly talented artist for the first time.
It reveals artist talent to its best whilst giving wonderful insight in to the actual artist himself - his life expressed through his art - fantastic.
J Cheshire
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Following a TV documentary I bought this for my wife and she's very pleased with it. The quality of illustrations is very good, while the selection of pictures is comprehensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
Nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Like this really, and my friends like it too. Lot to read and see. You can have some other books about him and his paintings, this in beautiful, you really like it or the paintings?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I really like being able to read the comments straight from the Artist's mouth, gives an insight into the why's and wherefores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)