Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 14 December 2001
This book is a wonderful source of information for all herb lovers. It brings to life all the enthusiam of herbs and includes all the fokelore, medicinal uses etc for many many types of herbs, including many which I didn't even realise were herbs. It is also a wonderfully fitting rememberance for Ellis Peters who wrote all the Brother Cadfael novels. It really brings the picture of the monks attending the herb garden alive and you come to realise how important herbs were in the days before our modern medicines.
Wonderfully illustrated, very informative. A good present or a good coffee table book.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2014
It list herbs with accompanying photos much as you would get in any number of other herbal books.

Apart from mentioning where in the Cadfael books you would find the herbs it has nothing to commend it. A disappointing, overly priced book which has little to do with Cadfael, or his work in his herb garden or his work with herbs in his workshop.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2004
I loved the series and comming across this book on Amazon.uk I just wanted to have it. It seemed to be interesting. BUT it's far more than that - it simply wonderful. Itnot only give you the information, background of all those herbs our ancestors once used to 'get better' it also is nice to look at. Because of it's nice layout it's also a perfect book to place on a small round table next to your armchair. In order to make the siting room more presentable. I honestly believe this book will also charm those who never even seen or read Cadfael books/series. As it's a book which will give you inside in all those special plants/herbs. Which you have stroll by on a Sunday walk without realising what good they can do...or evil it can cause! On the suggestion what is best to read this book first and than check out the Cadfael series/books - or see the series or read the books first and than get hold of this book I have to admit I can't answer. They both are simple wonderful!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2011
As a big fan of Cadfael and a keen gardener i brought this book and although very interesting it was very overpriced and i had hoped that there would be a few instructions on how to make some of the preparations if I'd seen this book in the shops I would only have brought it if it was much cheaper.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2009
Although a lovely book, it is more of a Cadfael history rather than a herbal - although there are vague descriptions of these late on in the book. Not at all what I was expecting and the details of the herbs are sketchy and frequently suggest that the reader refer to Culpepper. A nice book to have, but overpriced for what it is, and the content is disappointing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
I loved the books and I am interested in herbs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2015
Very interesting. Well researched. A companion to the Cadfael books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2016
Very nice book, but some pages where missing in my book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)