Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2011
If you are doing too much, letting too many people become dependent upon you, or are frustrated because you can't; if you are slowing down, retired, beginning to feel a bit less useful; yes, even if you've been made redundant (as I was), and are prepared to be patient while quite a tortuous argument unfolds, this is a book that could change your life. The argument is based upon his interpretation of "betrayed" (as in what Judas did to Jesus), and on the precise meaning of "passion" (as in Christ's passion). Give it time to sink in.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
This is a fascinating subject-relating To Jesus' life and passion.As the title suggests it is from the standpoint of the period of his life when he changed from being immensely active--to when he became the passive recipient of men's hatred and mistrust.Judas' role in this is discussed,as well as those times in our life when we become" recipients"-either willing or unwilling.How this forms part of God's plan is expounded at length.Sometimes it seems to repeat itself.But the writer tackles a difficult subject boldly.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
This is my second copy of this book and was bought so as to lend it to one of my students: I can't rate it highly enough.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2001
In it chapter is explores the phase of Jesus' life from his active working life to the passive waiting of his passion and death. This all hinges on the "Handing over" of Jesus by Judas in on eve of his death.
Anyone who has ever been a sick, unemployed, or are retired should read this book - It will open there eyes to this new state of being passive but put it into a positive light.
This is only a short book but will change your life for the better - not be put off my the Greek it is all explain.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Enjoyed this book. Purchased principally on exegesis/ideas in first couple of chapters looking at treatment of Judas. Rest of book actually quite different but no less intriguing as Vanstone explores aspects of Jesus Passion and modern experience. Gets you thinking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
This book shows why theology is helpful; by applying it to our lives. The author doesn't mention a "basic income", but I often thought of the attributes of this idea whilst reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
A brilliant and fascinating book. Tiny but every word is vital. A very helpful guide to coping with the many situations in life when we feel out of control and don't like that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Stunning book just couldn't switch off and have had to have it ripped out of my hands such was the compulsion to read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
This book was delivered on time and was in excellent condition. It is very thought provoking and made me look at Jesus' Passion in a new light.The Stature of Waiting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
This is one of the most important books I've read for ages! A must for all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)