Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2017
This book was recommended to me as one of the better books to buy on photography and technique.
You can sit and read this though in relatively short-order, but think the best way to get the most out of it is to go through a chapter at a time, and go out and try out some of the teachings from each. I found it a good way to prompt me into thinking differently about how i went about taking outdoor shots.
I liked the narrative style; it is easy going, and quite light-hearted in places, but does a very good job of explaining techniques and methods. The photos inside were an excellent way to endorse the techniques being discussed, and showcase Brenda's talents as a creative photographer.

This is an updated version of her original book, and shows how Brenda has progressed from the use of film to digital, but the basic fundamentals remain the same.
If you only buy one book on the subject, then i think you would struggle to find one that does a better job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Great advice on differentiating between a good photograph and a really outstanding, creative one - and how to achieve this. The book is full of ideas and describes the techniques necessary in understanding the aspects of creative photography.

There's a lot to take in, learn and retain, but this book has it all and with much patience and practice perhaps the reader may one day produce a 'work of photographic art'.

This book is not really for beginners but, If you like a challenge, this book will 'open your eyes' and provide you with one!

Recommend highly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
Although I have no doubt about the reputation and professionalism of the author, I have to say that for me reading this book have been quite disappointing since I expected more from it. In my humble opinion, firstly, the images shown, in general, lack the punch that images from others photographers have. We are in the digital era so it implies, in some way, that people like to see images with eye-catching colors and great light. It seems that a vast majority of the images shown were shot with film. And secondly, there is no clue about the use of filters in landscape photography for balancing light conditions and also nothing is said about the use of software as Lightroom or PS. Finally, the only thing that I have liked about this book is how well and easy it is written and also I have found useful some composition that called my attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
Gives a gentle and very readable introduction to photography, explaining also things such as how to read histograms and adjusting depth of field.
Also (perhaps more importantly) explains concepts of composition in an excellent way. Definitely worth it if you've already dropped a few hundred on a reflex camera! (For people with a non-reflex camera, probably still worth it for the parts on composition, which apply in anycase.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
It is a complete book dealing mainly with composition techniques and elements. You will not find much (if at all) details on apertures, shutter speeds, but a lot of info on light and basic elements of composition (lines, shapes, etc.). Not a very original book, you find this info all over: in articles on internet, in absolutely all books dealing with composition. I gave it 3 stars though because I believe her pictures are really good and they illustrate perfectly the concepts she explains.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Bought this after watching Brenda's presentation on B&H Photo you tube channel. She really is a good photographer, but I expected more stunning images.It is still a good book, though, maybe just my expectation were too high
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
I have not yet finished this book however it certainly makes you think more about composition and lighting types when taking landscape photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Great ideas, great shots and worth spending hours reading / trying / reviewing the results.

Buy, read and learn :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
EXCELLENT, i would buy from this seller again any time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
A Christmas gift which made the recipient very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)