Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 May 2017
This book was recommended to me as one of the better books to buy on photography and technique.
You can sit and read this though in relatively short-order, but think the best way to get the most out of it is to go through a chapter at a time, and go out and try out some of the teachings from each. I found it a good way to prompt me into thinking differently about how i went about taking outdoor shots.
I liked the narrative style; it is easy going, and quite light-hearted in places, but does a very good job of explaining techniques and methods. The photos inside were an excellent way to endorse the techniques being discussed, and showcase Brenda's talents as a creative photographer.

This is an updated version of her original book, and shows how Brenda has progressed from the use of film to digital, but the basic fundamentals remain the same.
If you only buy one book on the subject, then i think you would struggle to find one that does a better job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2006
If you like books full of tech specs ("for this picture you'd need a tripod brand xxxx with a ball head brand yyyy and of course camera zzzz and lens wwww, all of which are reaaaaaly expensive"), don't buy this book :) If you are looking for a book that explains to "learn to see" - as Ms. Tharp title chapter one - and translate your vision into appealing images, this is a book to have. It os written in a clear and friendly way, and even beginners will not be intimidated.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
Bought this after watching Brenda's presentation on B&H Photo you tube channel. She really is a good photographer, but I expected more stunning images.It is still a good book, though, maybe just my expectation were too high
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2006
I bought this book by chance and was pleasantly suprised by the strong images, useful advice and eloquent style of writing. The author covers all of the important topics, such as exposure, filters and composition and uses her photographs well to illustrate the technical advice. She also includes practical projects which can be undertaken in order to reinforce the theory. I would definitely recommend this to any keen landscape photographer, the book would provide a very good grounding for anyone new to the subject and yet also contains enough to satisfy the more experienced photographer.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2018
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2015
I have not yet finished this book however it certainly makes you think more about composition and lighting types when taking landscape photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2010
I really like the writing style, and the photos included speak for themselves when emphasising each point. Some really good ideas about composition and patterns in here, I know I used some of the ideas to great effect during a recent hiking trip in Nepal on the Annapurna circuit (highly recommended for amazing photography if you ever get a chance!!) With a book like this and some practise you'll be shooting great photos in no time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2010
If you are like me, a keen amateur photographer, and you find yourself stuck at a mediocre level just buy this book. Brenda writes in a very clear and enthusiastic way to explain how to look at the world and photograph it in a way that makes your photos more interesting and exciting. Read it, and if you don't agree, flog it on eBay. You won't lose much money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2015
A Christmas gift which made the recipient very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2015
Great ideas, great shots and worth spending hours reading / trying / reviewing the results.

Buy, read and learn :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)