Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 28 April 2013
Ok there's some nice bts more on concept than technical setups, which I really like.
Joey is an incredible photog of course and it's nice to see the thought process but it does become a little self absorbed which is perhaps a reflection of the fast paced job to job commercial shoot demands that I'm sure he lives by. I guess once you have read anything by Joe McNally you realise nobody writes photography quite like him, technical, conceptual, witty and with an intuitive understanding of humanity.....of course Joey will have some amazing stories to tell when he grows up too:)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
I ordered the book because I saw the photographers photos on an exhibition. I absolutely LOVE this book, and the quality of the photos and the whole book is absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
I bought this book mainly on the recommendation of one of the English speaking world's most well known bloggers.

The photographer/author in question is an awesome photographer and ridiculously young considering how much he has achieved (if my memory serves me correctly he is only 22 or so with agents on two continents representing him and he's been shooting for high end clients since his teens). Having watched video footage of this guy at work, and read an interview or two, and having been warned that the book is more inspirational than educational, I bought the book.

There are some bits, in fact lots of, info on how certain shots were acheived but I consider it a book more for picking up a few tips and gaining inspiration from.

This kid is one to watch for the future, he is a seriously awesomoe image maker
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I love this book it's full of great images, Let's you know what camera, Lens, lights and modifier used for the images taken, a great insight to Mr Lawrence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I believe this book was written for beginners in portrait photography describing how to use light and shadow techniques. Beginners will benefit from this book the most.

On the other hand experienced photographer can find inspiration here as well.

It was a good reading. Thank you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
For anyone wanting to work with lighting this book is a must. Highly inspirational ideas from one of the coolest photographers of the moment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
nicely laid out, wonderful photography. Some of the text gets a bit repetitive at times but it's a really nice book to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Excellent ,loved it , and I found it both informative and inspiring , how much for a plane ticket to Ethiopia??.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Loved it! A great read, definitely would recommend to anyone who is interested in photography. Amateurs and pro's alike! :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Great book if you want to understand how Joey create his amazing portraits. Underexposing, neutral density filters and big lights - and how to use them :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse