Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 4 August 2008
The previous issues have ben excellent and this is by far the best on the maket now. It is obviously suitable for undergraduate immunology modules but I have also found it to be excellent as a resource for HND/HNC type courses and for the background information for MSc students. The integrated CDROM is excellent although I had a bit of bother getting the movies to work directly (had to go through the book menu, rather than just clicking on a movie). Good quality graphics and slide presentations.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2010
If you are looking for a primer in Immunology, look no further. This is a wonderful book, written by some of the best minds in Immunology, led by the man who described Toll like receptors and elucidated co-stimulation, among his other achievements. It's appropriate for those hungry for detail, those seeking to marry the practice of their own specialty (in my case, Rheumatology) with a robust appreciation of Immunology. I have gone back to it many many times, and each time I have learnt a little bit more. Thank you, Janeway & co.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
I'm in my final year doing an Immunology course in Trinity College Dublin and this book is perfect as a referencing tool. Many of our lectures include the figures that are in this book and it even comes with a disc that gives you all the figures (so very handy if you have to make presentation) and a few movies (handy for a good overview of the things you just read).

Much better value than in the stores and is the book for Immunology.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
Good level of detail for any bomed/medical Bachelors degree. Good diagrams to explain several complex processes. Highly recommend for any student embarking on a higher educational course with immunology as a component or module.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
This is a great textbook, covering all topics from the very basics of immunology to tumour vaccines and AIDS. Everything is beautifully explained with great examples, and the diagrams are superb. The diagrams are the best thing about this textbook, they are clear, well labelled, very well explained and there is a diagram to explain each and every process. Immunology would have been a lot more difficult without these diagrams.

Also, the journal articles used for each chapter are given at the end of the chapter (and they're all recent articles), which means you can use it to prepare for final year exams and write essays to a first class standard (in my uni, this meant referencing lots of articles for maximum marks).

My prof recommended this edition over the more recent one as it is more thorough on the basics, and apparently the diagrams are better. I would recommend this textbook to any second or final year undergrad taking immunology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
Good resource for life scientists studying immunology at university; good reference once in a job.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2010
Very good and thorough found it very easy to learn from. Made immunology interesting to someone who is not a big fan of the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Book arrived quickly, in a very good condition and was packaged well. altogether a good buying experience. Thanks was as required. useful for biomed students for extra study
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This item was exactly what I need for both an Immunology course as part of my BSc Biochemistry degree and also for going over the basic for an MSc Immunology degree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
I was really surprised to see the book in such a good quality for the amount of money I spent. I will always select this seller for my future book needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)