Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more


on 1 June 2016
This is a wonderful book that I bought after buying "Bead Builders" and "Tarntine"
They are all linked
It is all whole grain recipes except for the Scottish loaf where a white flour is used for the sponge.
The machine bread is a bonus and it it explains how to work out recipes to suit
The Desem (starter) is very well explained although not used in many recipes.
Four stars, as I was expecting the recipes to be more natural starters rather than commercial yeast.
Saying that I just excluded the yeast and went 200g 50/50 starter most recipes can take that amount
and still be in the 450g x 2 range.
I used only the metric measurements and all of the recipes have worked out well. Use one or the other
as there are variances between americanese and metric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2016
Absolutely wonderful book with recipes that work perfectly every time. I have many bread baking books written by well known bakers but their recipes are nearly always based on white flour with a small amount of wholemeal added. Laurel's Kitchen Bread Book provides recipes and clear, simple instructions for baking beautifully textured, light 100% wholemeal bread with unbeatable flavour. These recipes really work and are delicious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 2016
A follow up to the well loved book Laura's kitchen. Not just recipes, but also lots of useful information.
Thank you for compiling this treasure trove.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
I love this book. I try to eat only wholemeal but it was difficult to find good receipts.
I learn a lot from this book about wholemeal bread making.
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2003
If you want to bake bread without using any refined flours, and without ending up with heavy bricks, this book is the perfect guide to the subject. It gives step-by-step instructions, including how to knead, deflate and shape your dough and put it in the pan so that it rises well, and a huge selection of recipes -- including wheat-free and yeast-free varieties. My favourites are the wonderful fruit breads, which are wholesome, delicious, and completely unlike anything I can find in my local bakery or shop. I've been using this cookbook for 5+ years and I feel deprived if I can't bake a couple of loaves at least once a week.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 1998
This is the first whole grain bread baking cook book that I have been able to make beautiful and light bread every time. The instructions are easy to follow and adaptable to your schedule. One of my favorites is the egg bread. It is so beautiful and absolutely delicious. It is not challah but it looks like it only it is whole wheat with that wonderful nutty flavor
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2005
The authors describe this book as an "apprenticeship" in baking, which it is. Starting with the first detailed recipe, "A Loaf for Learning", the book takes you through every step you need to know to make wonderful, whole-grain bread. There are directions for using food processors and dough hooks to make your bread, as well as hand mixing and kneading. Recipes cover a great range of whole grain flours, plus breads with added fruit, nuts, dairy and other wholesome ingredients. There are also yeast-free breads, wheat-free breads, sourdough, and a selection of quick breads, plus pointers for what might have gone wrong if your bread doesn't come out right, and how to rescue a batch of failed bread (including what to do with a brick). There is not an ounce of refined flour in sight -- not because the authors are "wholefood cranks", but because they believe that whole grains offer not only the best nutrition but the best flavour. Once you've baked with this book, you will agree. I can't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 1998
I have been baking bread from this book for at least 10 years. EVERY recipe I've tried has produced light, tasty and totally delicious bread. This book taught me to bake with whole grains and I recommend it with unreserved enthusiasm.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2011
Totally fabulous book of whole grain bread recipes, mainly wheat based but also using rye and many other grains, ranging from the very quick and easy to those taking a fortnight. Well written and easy to follow recipes, with good background about the chemistry of bread making. Starts you off with a Beginner's loaf. No photos, but just good honest and unpretentious recipes from passionate people who have baked 20,000 loaves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2006
I have been using this cookbook for the better part of a decade. The authors are truly committed to baking with nothing but whole grains, but what's interesting to me is how healthy much of this bread is in terms of the latest research into the glycaemic index. Many of the recipes incorporate whole grains as well as flour, or beans, or nuts and fruit -- all of which will lower the GI of the bread (as does using stoneground wholewheat flour). The book is therefore a great basis for a healthy diet based around delicious bread.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)