Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Ghost Train
Format: Paperback|Change


on 4 May 2015
I read this book back in the mid-1990s. It was OK. Ghost Train (1985) is a horror mystery by Stephen Laws. Mark Davies has nightmares about ancient burial grounds and is forced to fall from a train into his own terrifying nightmare. It is quite clear that this is Laws' debut novel, for it is slow going, though competently written. The novel suffers from too many dream sequences and flashbacks, and the plot is quite ragged, shifting all over the place due to the flashbacks. Unfortunately, the story is not set on the London underground for long enough, again due to the flashbacks. I found the plot too haphazard to maintain my interest, although I did finish the book. This is a predictable horror tale about good vs. evil with some pretty graphic death sequences. Ultimately uninspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
I read this book back in the mid-1990s. It was OK. Ghost Train (1985) is a horror mystery by Stephen Laws. Mark Davies has nightmares about ancient burial grounds and is forced to fall from a train into his own terrifying nightmare. It is quite clear that this is Laws' debut novel, for it is slow going, though competently written. The novel suffers from too many dream sequences and flashbacks, and the plot is quite ragged, shifting all over the place due to the flashbacks. Unfortunately, the story is not set on the London underground for long enough, again due to the flashbacks. I found the plot too haphazard to maintain my interest, although I did finish the book. This is a predictable horror tale about good vs. evil with some pretty graphic death sequences. Ultimately uninspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Stephen Laws may not be as well known as other horror writers but he will be very soon,take this book for example,a great read and also a clever one too,This book is about trains and what is happening on them,it appears that the line the trains are on are either haunted or the line on its,but as people are being murdered or driven to suicide,when they are on the train,or in one case attacked and thrown off the train.so a group of people decide to find out why this is happening,and that when this book really gets going,and once you have started reading this you will not want to stop ..........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2008
This was my introduction to Laws, and led me to seek out everything he has written.

It's all based on a great premise... that the main East Coast rail line from London to the North of England is on a ley line that can channel power to the London End, with a view to waking an ancient demon.

Strange deaths abound on the line. Our protagonist, himself a survivor of a strange experience on a train, has to try to stop the energy building up.

The climax is a tour-de-force as the train hurtles to London, the demon grows ever more powerful, and the deaths pile up.

Laws has a wild imagination, and he likes to kill people in very gruesome fashions, but if, like me, you like your horror fast and action packed, then he's the man for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 March 2008
The young, the old, the infirm... Stephen Laws doesn't doesn't think politically when he's killing people in a myriad of gruesome ways. Ghost Train is old school horror, with possession, demonic forces, a mystery to be solved and a finale of good versus evil against all odds. What lets Ghost Train down is the real lack of substance. Although Laws has attempted to weave considerable mystery in to the plot, the evil 'train' just doesn't have any character and as a result there is a not enough engagement. The key components are there but the writing isn't good enough to make it a memorable book. Suitable for an easy read but not Laws at his best.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2002
Running along similar lines (no pun intended) as Bill Garnett's "Down-Bound Train" this marvellous book actually personifies the hell portrayed in Garnett's superb shocker. One man has faced this hell and escaped three times but the creature is preparing to free itself totally from the King's Cross Line where it is trapped. The pace is fantastic, building to a spellbinding climax and the real truth of one man's nightmares about The Ghost Train.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
Stephen Laws is one hell of an author, if you haven't tried him then please do as I fully recomend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
Book in very good condition looking forward to reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2016
Thank you for the books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse