Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I think I'll leave it to others to write reviews about the deep philosophical significance of the Playboy centerfolds and contemporary American society. My capsule review is: here's a very heavy book with hundreds of photos of gorgeous females.

The following are a few random thoughts on this amazing book.
* The total weight of this (reassuringly?) expensive package is thirty pounds, the combination lock case weighs five pounds. You can check out the dimensions in the Product Details section.
* Production values are suitably sumptuous with photos printed in 200dpi screen on good paper and an obviously robust black binding holds it all together. The carrying case acts in lieu of a book jacket I guess.
* The centerfolds in the book are the same size as those in the perfect bound magazine. For many years Playboy was stapled and the centerfolds were a bit deeper by about three-quarters of an inch.
* There seems to be some confusion about how many Playmates and centerfolds are included in the unnumbered pages, 640 are in the index, from Rhonda Adams (June 1995) to Pamela Zinser (March 1974) but Janet Pilgrim made it three times. Marilyn Waltz and Marguerite Empey both appeared twice. Some centers featured two Playmates: the Collinson twins (October 1970) Carol and Darlene Beraola (January 2000) Deisy and Sarah Teles (December 2003) and the Dahm's (Erica, Nicole and Jacclyn) all appeared in December 1998. Playboy started in December 1953 (but no issue for March 1955) and the last photo in the book is December 2006. You can relax though because I've counted the pages (it took some time) and there are 638 centerfolds. October 1958 included two centers (Mara Corday and Pat Sheehan) as did January 1974 but here it was the front and back of the delightful Nancy Cameron.
* Five lucky photographers seem to have spent their lives telling Playmates to "Look straight at the camera, imagine it's your lover!", Mario Casilli, Richard Fegley, Arny Freytag, Pompeo Posar and Stephen Wayda have, between them, taken over 350 centers. The index lists sixty-nine photographers.
* Sure it's an indulgence but if you have to justify the purchase to anyone just say as well as being a huge coffee table book it IS a coffee table. Put a pile of your back issues at either end and voila!
* One problem remains though just where am I going to keep such a huge book?
review image review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
I know it is my own fault, but I bet you didn't notice until I pointed it out here that this page (thus book) is the GERMAN VERSION and the TEXT IS ALL IN GERMAN. It says so in the product description. Nobody's fault but my own. But why is it on Amazon ahead of the English version when you search for it? At least I got the centrefolds
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This book is beautifully printed on quality paper - it is very heavy! It contains every Playboy centrefold from the beginning (Marilyn) to December 2007. The format matches the centrefold format (printed borderless, one per page), hence the strange shape!
The photographs show the evolution of the Playboy style, and is a master class in glamour photography. With the classic pin up girls (Marilyn, Bettie Page, Jayne Mansfield) it is a lovely book, and must have the record for the largest number of lovely girls in one volume!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
A superb collection of Playboy photography over the ages, presented in an artistic but definitely erotic form. It is a fantastic book for the lovers of the body beautiful. Not really a coffee table book, but not one for the brown paper cover either. Add it to your library with pride! The only slightly strange feature is that the book is quite high but not very wide. I puzzled over this for an instant before realising that it is the only way that fold out centre folds can be presented in a fixed page format. It doesn't detract from the delightful pictures though.

Destined in my opinion to be a Modern Classic. A very reasonable price for such a wondrous collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This book is an exceptional collection of quality photographs of some of the most beautiful women. The production quality is superb and the content is vast. I would encourage anyone who is considering acquiring this book to buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
I first saw this book on the shelves of a local bookseller and was instantly hooked. It is sleek, stylish, eye-catching and gently erotic without being remotely pornographic. My wife raised her eyes skywards to begin with but she now appreciates the look of this little gem and chuckles at the changing way in which the female form has been celebrated through our lifetime. A definite coffee-table classic, although I have not yet been brave enough to leave it in view when my mother-in-law is about!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
If you are male or looking to buy a present for a male,particularly one who is interested in photography buy this book.

GORGEOUS!!

no more to add.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
I bought this for a friends 30th and he said it was by far the best present he received. Although his girlfriend wasn't too happy as she'd spent quite a penny on a nice watch for him!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2017
Nice compillation and beautifully photographed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A gift for a friend, who was thrilled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)