Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 16 December 2015
This book is *the* book all Beatles fans have been waiting for. I shelled out for the hardback and i'm not at all regretful. The book is large with high quality glossy paper. The book is comprised of statements by The Beatles themselves in chronological order from their high school days to Hamburg and beyond with all the wit and insight you would expect. Excellent photos too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2017
I watched the film and no I've read the book. Despite The Beatles being so familiar they are like breathing reading their own story in their own words is always fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2017
decent read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2012
Having not bought the hardcover version when it came out, this review is about the recently-released paperback version. Content-wise, there may be no difference but the paperback is obviously less bulky, which might suit some, but still sturdy. Regarding the contents of the book, i can only echo the previous comments made and give it a resounding 5 stars. If i had to quibble, you could argue that although the 3 remaining Beatles are a lot more candid about most things, there could be still more to say. I understand though that perhaps the likes of Cynthia Lennon may not want to read about what her husband got up to so perhaps some things are best left unsaid. A minor quibble then, but as the others have said, the book is beautifully illustrated with interesting reprints of original documents and some quite rare photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Ideal 70th birthday gift for a 60's fanatic, especially the Beatles - bought in conjunction with the DVD set which are such a pleasure to watch and full of hitherto unseen footage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
The,great times. The,not so great times. Documented,in an unbiased way. A must have for,serious music fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2000
I've never been a hardcore Beatles fan and read very little about them in the past. I also have only ever purchased one album! This book, however, has been a great read and gives a very clear picture of the whole story. Of particular interest is their early life in Liverpool and how each them developed a very shrewd awareness of those around them and an incredible familiarity with the music on the scene at that time. What comes through the book is an image of dedicated, capable and creative individuals who worked remarkably as a team in spite of the pressures that developed around them. If you go beyond the Beatles level it is a book about how great minds came to be into a world and simply changed it forever. It's a book that is hard not to enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2016
Love The Beatles? All you need to know, can't fault this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2013
I don't like the Beatles, but this book even compelled me to flick through and read it! It's a present, and I know that the recipient is going to love it. Beautifully presented, great information, and a decent price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2016
My lad loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)