Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2013
for the admission price this is an outstanding purchase. they could have made it twice the size and bound it in hardback and charged triple.....and i still would have bought it! that's how good this book is; astonishing relaxed casual pictures of jazz heroes, unforced, unpretentious and un-posey. and that's not to mention the insight gleaned from their answers to the Baroness's simple question: if you had three wishes to be granted now, what would they be? mostly light-hearted answers here, brief and un-expounded upon, mirroring the subjects' obvious sense of ease in the company of one of their greatest champions, but that is not to say they lack profundity. you also learn a little about the somewhat mysterious Baroness from some of the answers, for example, that Art Blakey was in love with her, although the humour in his proposition suggests he knows he hasn't a chance. wonderful work, precious even, i would venture, and highly recommended. 5 unreserved stars!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I received exactly what I expected to receive: a book written by a person who's been living among jazz musicians, taking care of their needs and writing, through this beautiful book, what were their wishes.. things they didn't reach yet.. but there's someone like Thelonious Monk telling about three things he already had!!! I appreciated very much also the objects I bought toghether with this one: in fact, I was buying the dvd "The Jazz Baroness" whet the site suggested to buy also the two books..and of course I did!!! Thank you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
Three wishes by Pannonica de Koenigswarter Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats is a heart-stoppingly revealing book about many of the jazz greats from the post-swing era. This remarkable woman devoted herself to the practical and emotional support of a remarkable generation of musicians, Thelonious Monk and Charlie Parker, to name but two. This book adds an amazing new dimension to our appreciation of their music, in giving us a glimpse of what it must have been like to be them.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Indispensable book for all the Jazz lovers if only for great photos alone.

More so if you are fan of Monk and are familiar with Nica - the Jazz Baroness.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
The person who's present this is loved it- a great Jazz fan- found it an unusual book with as different view of the artists
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
An interesting book that contains some wonderful photos. Whilst i knew what the book contained I still found myself wishing that there was more contextual detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
I've always admired what Pannonica did for jazz musicians, especially Charlie Parker and Thelonious Monk (who called one of his tunes after her). Fascinating little book with some great photos. If you are a fan of 40s and 50s modern jazz give this book a try!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Never realised how much she helped the musicians - especially T Monk !
Well worth buying - every jazz fan should have it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
Great book full of fantastic pictures and inspiring quotes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Enjoyed by the person it was bought for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)