Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2009
Since I recently came to be without a timepiece again, and since my knowledge of watches brands is limited to Rolex, Omega, and Swatch, I ordered this book to read up on watches before buying a new one. This book was one of the most entertaining books I recently read, and I must admit I have become a watch fanatic ever since I read it.

Although the introductory history of timekeeping (covering from ancient egypt up to the cell phones of today) is fairly interesting, the most interesting part of the introduction is his comparison of the watch scene with an old European court. This gives a good high-level overview of the most important players, described in the remainder of the book.

The main part of the book consists of a description of 50 of the most notable and famous historical watch brands out there, including their history, relations to other brands, ... These stories (which don't go into too much detail such that they would become boring) are a very interesting read, and serve as an excellent crash course into the world of watches for newcomers like me. However, what really puts the cherry on the cake are undoubtedly the 500 gorgeous high-quality pictures of watches and their movements, depicted in extremely high detail. On any given day, I find it fascinating to pick up the book, flip through the pages, and enjoy just looking at these photos for a while.

The last part of the book focuses on the actual owning, exploring, and collecting of watches. Besides a handful of tips from the author, this part comes with several testimonies from different watch collectors. On top of this, the author created a few top 10s of watches, including "models that everybody should know", "models that are fun to look at", etc., which yet again is very valuable information for the uninitated like me.

You can feel that the author has a passion for watches, knows what he's talking about, and put a lot of love into this book to share his passion and knowledge with the rest of the world. All this makes The Watch both a fascinating and entertaining to read, or, if you don't feel like reading, a nice way to feast your eyes on pretty shiny pictures.

If, like me, you're interested in reading even more about watches after finishing The Watch, I can recommend Cult Watches: The World's Enduring Classics. Instead of discussing the different watch models of a variety brands, Cult Watches picks out 30 specific "cult" watches, and tells the detailed story behind each watch and its manufacturer. Although most of the brands in that book are described in this book as well, some of them that are only mentioned briefly in The Watch are covered in more detail in Cult Watches.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
With a new found interest in watches, this seemed to me like the perfect introduction. Maybe could have been a bit more generally about different types of watches but 100% happy I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2008
I am reading this cover to cover, as there is a wealth of useful and fascinating information in a very well presented hardback, with excellent photography. A must for watch lovers!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
As a watch collector I always hope to find some new information when sitting down to enjoy a book on my favorite hobby.
This book was not much worth in that respect. There is no real focus, other than the jewelery aspect of watch collecting. Differences in watch movements and the technical solutions and developments are never touched.
The presentation of each of the 50 watch brands contains really nothing else than what may be found on the respective brands websites.
As a coffee table show of in the waiting room of a upper class dentist or lawyers office it may work, but for a person wanting to learn more on watches and watch collecting it has little or no interest.
The reason why I do not rate it at one star is that the picture quality is quite good.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
This is the perfect book for those who are just starting to get interested in the world of watches, or who just appreciate great watch photography.

You'll read about the big brands that everyone's heard of such as Rolex and Omega. Then you'll discover the even more luxurious brands that watch connoiseurs collect, such as Patek Philippe, Vacheron Constantin and A. Lange & Sohne.

A great introduction to haute horologie then, and a nice reference work for deciding which watch to buy next!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
When you read a novel, it is rare that you read it again. It is a one-stop read...usually. When you read a book like this, the difference between a good book and a bad one is the frequency with which you subsequently revisit the book. I constantly pick this one up and thoroughly enjoy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
As a newcomer to the world of watches, I found this book very good. It gave a brief history of watches, introduced 50 of the best-known brands (subjectively chosen, of course), and some very useful hints and tips on starting a collection. Good references for further information, including books and websites. I can recommend it if you are a newcomer like myself, but it may become a bit too superficial and lack depth for those already knowledgeable about world of watches.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2009
I was really pleased with this purchase. The book is great, very informative without being too wordy, with fantastic photography of the watches. Ideal for anyone who has a love of watches.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
If you're new to the wonderful world of watches this is the perfect book at an excellent price. The book covers 50 of the world's top watch makers and companies and provides a good introduction to, and history of, each. This includes detailed images and references to the most important models. The photography is excellent throughout.

Other features include advice on starting a collection, short essays by some collectors, and various interesting lists ('8 Manual wind chronographs', '12 great vintage watches', etc).

The book may be somewhat light-weight if you're an expert, but it provides a superb reference for the relative newcomer, and at this price is an absolute must buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Okay for beginners, but for anybody who has a real interest and more than a couple of months of reading behind them, this is too basic and too biased towards the american brands notably hamilton. Pictures are of okay however descriptions get tedious and similar.
Not really recommended....I woudl invest in magazines / other higher quality books than this.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)