Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13


on 14 June 2003
I recently came across this book on Amazon when I was searching for something else. This was the first book I ever managed to read independently - it'll be my silver anniversary of first reading it! The illustration and tales are absolutely enchanting. I used to twist my dad's arm to read it to me when I was too tired to read it for myself - I think I probably also used to pretend to be one of the mice.... (I was only five!).
Each story is different - they all transport you to somewhere magical and this, surely, is the purpose of any children's story. It's a simple book, and not very sophisticated, but it is one that childen will remember.
This is an excellent book to buy any children who are learning to read - and will give them a lifelong interest in looking at the shape of clouds!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2001
This is one of the best beloved book from my own childhood.I remember, how I used to read it together with my mother, and how I really felt the atmosphere of the places, how the characters made me curious, and how the stories fascinated me. I have been happy to dive into it again, together with my own two children, who have loved the book equally. I think that its power stems from the calm, timeless feeling of the story telling, and the joy of imagination. Poetic, beautiful and amusing. A treasure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2013
My children's favourite book when they were young. I bought it on a whim for my grown uo daughter as a mystrey gift and she was delighted. Arnold Lobel creates a perfect imaginary world for his characters that our children adored. Classic book that every child should have in their library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2012
I loved this book as a child, and recently found my little brothers copy which my 3 year old daughter loves. My favourite story has to be "the Journey". A must read for children of all ages, those who can read and those who love to have it read to them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2001
My best loved children's book, I still have my copy from 20 years ago. Absolute gem for all ages. Buy this book for the tale of the new feet!!!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2012
I had this book as a child, and was delighted (and amazed) to see it was still in print. My three year old son now loves it as much as I do.
The stories are short enough to hold the interest of early readers, and the language is simple but not boring. The themes are also witty and fun for adults. I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2016
I have just looked at the table of contents in this book and I am transported back 36 years to when I was a kid reading this.
This is a great book and highly recommend it if you have kids, grandkids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2013
I never, ever tired of reading this as a child. Especially the story of the mouse who wore out his feet. Buy it for a child you love - they will treasure it. Absolutely faultless!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2013
I bought this for my daughter as I loved the stories myself when I was young, she is too young to appreciate them at the moment but I love reading them to her!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2005
I only today remembered that I read this book a long time ago and the joy it gave me, am really excited about owning a copy and re-aquainting myself with the amazing stories that are contained within its covers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse