Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 24 September 2017
An interesting and well written history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
This book arrived within expected time and was in good condition. Happy with price and purchase. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
superb - detailed and fun to read great work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an interesting book that was a positive surprise to me because it is a lot more than four biographies. In fact the only thing letting the book down at all is that the author doesn't really seem to an attempt a conclusion at the end.

It is well written and a really nice account of late nineteenth century US economic and business history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Excellent, as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
This book is so so so brilliant - Only God knows why I hadn't read it earlier. Have even ordered copies for friends! An excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
The author spends too much time trying to show his knowledge of the economic and social history of the time, and not enough time explaining how the core subjects of the book made their fortune. The result is that the book often goes off-track, and the author ends up rambling. The title of the book is 'The Tycoons'. When you strip out the waffle, it leaves too few pages devoted to how the main subjects made their fortune. It felt like only 20 pages of worthwhile information was included about each main subject of the book. In comparison, a few years ago I read a book about Cornelius VanderBilt, that was hundreds of pages long and almost all relevant an on-point. Unfortunately I can not remember the name of that book, or its author, otherwise I would recommend it in place of 'The Tycoons'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Anyone curious about how ruthless. determined and driven men can build a nation would do well to read this informative and well researched book. It opened my eyes and gave me a better understanding of the way things worked, and still work in the world of finance and commerce.

Well worth the price of admission.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2012
This is not a definitive work on the four Tycoons headlined on the cover, but it is an interesting social history of America either side of the start of the twentieth century. The three industrialists play a significant part in that history, but so do many others that are not featured. The author clearly considered that the story of American industrial development could not be told without mentioning Pierpont Morgan but didn't seem to be clear on what part he should credited with. On the other hand Henry Ford and many others get no more than a passing mention. The story is nonetheless well worth reading. Well two thirds of it is. The last part, when the Tycoons have been retired, loses its way and becomes a management book on how much better productivity is in the US than in the UK and most of the industrial world at that point (meaning Germany). The book is an interesting read but is not an authoritative work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
The Tycoons is a particularly interesting history of America in the mid to late 1800's and the role played by 4 key industrialists. I actually purchased the book thinking it soley focussed on the four mian men however the book intersperses interesting chapters about America at the time as long with a history of each man. This I feel benefits the book immensely creating a totally engaging narrative for the history of each individual. Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse