Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

#1 HALL OF FAMEon 14 April 2002
'Our Lady of the Flowers' is the best novel by Jean Genet- a victim of the intolerant French prison system (not unlike 'three strikes & you're out in the USA). Allusions are drawn to another French writer, famously incarcerated: the Marquis de Sade. This only goes so far- true that both '120 Days of Sodom' & 'Our Lady of the Flowers' were written in prison. And early drafts were destroyed or withdrawn... But Genet was more modern than de Sade (obviously)- here he writes about the senses- a theme common to modernist works such as 'Tropic of Cancer' & 'Ulysses'. Though I feel his closest literary relations are Ferdinand Celine: the Vichy-collaborator & William S. Burroughs. His influence can be detected in the more erotic elements of JG Ballard- notably 'Crash'...In this novel, which has a thoughtful foreword by Jean Paul Sartre, Genet takes us to the internal abyss he occupies. And describes how he transcends this to make it a heaven... but it is taken to a level of Holy praise...This is probably Genet's masterpiece- though 'Miracle of the Rose' & 'Querelle of Brest' are close. I don't think you have to possess homosexual inclinations to get something out of this book...As with writers like Charles Bukowski & Hubert Selby Jr. Genet is a self-educated man from 'the other side of life' (to quote from 'Journey to the End of the NIght'). Unlike Sade he was not from the upper-classes, nor was he from the middle-class; he was from the streets. Almost a prefigured character for a Jacques Brel song. As the foreword tells you, the French Existentialists (Sartre et al) who would later turn obliquely Marxist, campaigned to have Genet released. And this is the end product of that. It is also one of the finest fictions of the 20th Century.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
What can one say about Genet? I have read all his works (or all I am aware of), and this is probably my favourite. Though it is a hard choice. Genet is a writer one lives with and grows with... The kind of writer one needs to recommend today simply because the age is too breezy and impatient for the best of literature at times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
Genet was in prison when he wrote this brilliant and sparkling book. His spirit floats free of his prison cell and he peoples his world with a cast of petty thieves, homosexuals and murderers. From this material he constructs a literary masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
Whats all the fuss about jean genet? Well sartre said he was "comedian and martyr" dont know about the martyr bit but our lady is funny in places. I think genet loved the drama of being put in jail because he was a bit of a nutcase. A very bright nutcase! The best bits in this novel are the courtroom drama where our lady is tried for murder (the mocking of societies morality and the depiction of our lady as the risen Christ is frankly juvenile and idiotic) but its quite funny. I never bothered to read our lady all the way through because it goes on and on droning about not much a lot of the time. I can see why some gays see this book as a gay manifesto because it shows the weakness and vulnerability of gay men and then the beauty (even other worldly religious beauty) of revolt in the face of crime and punishment. The idea of criminality being beautiful isnt really original i mean some women find criminality in men attractive as an antidote to the boredom of life thats nothing new. What is different about Genet is the utter randomness of his existence as the illigitimate son of a prostitute that mustve felt awfully empty and rootless. Maybe that empty feeling about his existence fuelled his contempt for morality and intense feelings of revolt. I really get the comedy in this book but it doesnt half drone a lot!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
Regarded as his finest work, this is a mixture of memories, facts, fantasies, speculations, irrational dreams, tender emotion, empathy, and philosophy: `one must lie to be true...what sort of truth do I want to talk about?'

He alludes to another incarcerated French writer, the Marquis de Sade. He takes us to the internal abyss that he occupies and describes how he transcends this to make it a heaven. He probably made his isolation bearable by retreating into a world not only of his own making, but one over which he had total control.

He masturbates regularly; his fantasies fuel his writing and his writing spurs on his fantasies in turn.... Legs thrown over shoulders, "Jean" is not only the serpent that eats its tail but becomes a small, circular, self - imbibing universe all his own. The alchemists' motto could his own: "Every man his own wife."
The book is full of different phallic images e.g. hat pins, the Eucharistic host, holy water sprinkler.

He praises the sanctity of `tea rooms' as being like churches, though with a different object of worship.

He extols the criminal underclass as aristocratic and he made his solemn entrance through the door of crime aged 16.

His "moral universe" is a mirror universe where amorality reigns; his world is so exclusively concerned with flea - ridden prostitutes, child murderers who don't wipe themselves, handsome pimps who eat what they scratch out of their noses, [prostitutes] with rotting teeth, strutting, uneducated alpha male hustlers, and masochistic sodomites.

There is his usual cast: a virile young thug, transvestites, handsome, amoral, and homosexual or bisexual "toughs," (with pet names like "Darling Daintyfoot," "Mimosa," and "Our Lady of the Flowers") jokes concerning lice, flatulence, constipation, and faeces, the criminal's code of honour, emotional betrayal, the road to "sainthood," theft, masochistic love.

In her twenties, Divine cruised the Mediterranean (in both senses): the yacht touched at Venice, where a film director took a fancy to her. They lived for few months through the huge rooms, fit for giant guards and horsemen astride their mounts, of a dilapidated palace.

Later, Divine returns to her origins in Jean's prison cell. Her cruise never happened but were written "to console" the narrator in his squalid prison cell: "I invent for Divine the cosiest apartments where I myself wallow."

When Our Lady, on trial for his life, uses the word `erection' the jury is embarrassed: the twelve old men, all together, very quickly put their hands over their ears to prevent the entry of the word that was big as an organ, which, finding no other orifice, entered all stiff and hot into their gaping mouths.

The narrator enjoys the beauty of young males who are unaware of their beauty and he'd like to kill a blond boy so as to get pretty ghost visitations. By contrast, he feels distaste for a woman while robbing her.

He finds beauty, suffering, vulnerability, humanity in everyone.

It's very Catholic but the sensuous rites of the Church are stripped of religion, and reapplied to the secular world. Genet insists on the holiness of his characters so it's no coincidence that the central character is named Divine. As for title, Our Lady of the Flowers, maybe in part a shrine set up in opposition to the other Notre-Dame (`dry to the point of Jansenism' - the counter reformation movement that emphasised original sin) He writes of a baptism of blood, asserts that the tabernacle is empty so there is no miracle, just a dead God.

In drag, he and a friend are dressed as nuns until a dog pulls at the skirts.

His observation of prison life: prisoners cut matches sideways, smoke 10 cigarrette butts, no longer have to bother about being clean or wearing a tie. (The first draft was written while Genet was in a French prison; when it was discovered and destroyed he immediately set about writing it again)

He confesses to a murder so as to get away from police, who dismissed him as being a lunatic. The warrant officer felt unable to utter the word `homosexual' but asks whether it's one or two words. He goes to his execution like a scapegoat of expiation.

It runs backwards, starting with Divine's death and then retracing the course of her life. There's no suspense: no sooner do we meet Our Lady than we are told he will be executed for the murder he commits. The conclusion is a hearing at which Jean might be set free. But he also wonders if he will remain a prisoner, in which case he plans to "refashion lovely new lives" for his characters. We never learn what happens and the novel ends not with a climax but with frustrated desire. It closes with the image of the outline of an erect penis - a dotted line which is a representation of virility, of Divine's lover and of the contours of an absence: The dotted line that Darling refers to is the outline of his prick. I once saw a pimp who had a hard-on while writing to his girl place his heavy cock on the paper and trace its contours. I would like that line to portray Darling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
After I read this book I found there was a stage veriosn performed by the Lindsay kemp company which was mesmerising. I suppose there is no chance that this was captured on film so thst a DVD could be around?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Genet's best novel, written whilst in prison, it has parallels between the Marquis de Sade and sartre who compained for his release and is a precursor to the beats, influencing those like William Burroughs.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
I chose this book as recommended from a top 10 in gay literature. Jean Genet writes with such a poetic and beautiful manner, the story is set and the characters are lade out in beauty and ugly entirety. The only issue with this book is his ability to form large tangents, which you learn allot about the author himself, prison life, solitude and prison poverty, his obsession with masturbation, sex and previous lovers, although it merges with a dream like quality I just found, and forgive me for my ignorance, that it made the story hard to follow, with his great repetitions and what seems like obsessions. Definitely worth a read but a little repetitive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This was a Christmas present for our daughter. The book is beautifully bound and she is extremely pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Excellent study of despair, passion and homosexual idolatry in prison
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.