Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
Paul, the Spirit, and the People of God
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 April 2016
Great book on the Holy Spirit recommended to me by my pastor so it had to be good :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2014
Another book to keep my nose down. I will be using this one for some time to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2014
I would thoroughly recommend this book. It is good to see someone working hard to be biblically accurate. Gordon Fee's style is very readable, practical and helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2013
A thoughtful analysis of Paul's teaching on the Holy Spirit by a theologian with a pastoral heart. It is stimulating and thought provoking
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2004
Excellent book, easy to read and understand - great book worth every penny
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2001
gordon d. fee has done everyone a favour. this is a scaled-down version of 'God's empowering presence', without all the pages of greek exegesis. suitable reading for the lay-theologian, a good devotional read.
particularly interesting are his comments on the flesh-spirit theme, and he certainly deserves to be heard in this regard. he competently expounds paul's theology of what it means to be 'in the spirit' and 'walking in the spirit' (though the reader will have to go to GEP for the full exegetical background)and exposes the shallowness of the prevailing evangelical view that flesh and spirit is about the unceasing internal battle between two natures, a doctrine which can be used to cover up sin and obscure the reality of the freedom believers have in Christ.
fee's findings make great pastoral theology, and i have found his insights invaluable, both in my own life and in teaching others. my only concern is that his emphasis on the spirit may tend to promote a corresponding de-emphasis on Christ, who is the central figure in paul's teaching.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2011
Mr. Fee believes in contemporary tongue-speaking etc. He also takes Romans chapter seven to be entirely an experience of pre-conversion.There are other flaws in the book, but this should be sufficient warning regarding the contents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)