Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 22 July 2013
I greatly enjoyed this insightful and easily read book about a missionary's experiences in Yemen. I found it to be extremely honest- too often missionary biographies and autobiographies and seem distant and removed- this book doesn't hide the very real trials of life in a country like Yemen but testifies to the grace of God over all. Highly recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 June 2012
The story starts with attending the conference that will hopefully send this family as christian missionaries to Yemen. But then audra`s husband suffers an almost fatal mystery illness. However the family arrive in Yemen and begin language study. Audra becomes a friend of her language helper and is invited to female gatherings. One of these is a wedding celebration where she quickly discovers you can wear almost anything under the modest apparel worn outside. During this time there is a riot in town and then the army is out in force. The family relocate after finishing language study but not before a bizarre illness strikes Audra`s daughter. Through this Audra learns to trust God even when she doesn`t understand. At the new home Audra is initially frustrated at not being able to really meet the local women. This is overcome because she chooses to wear her modest clothes on a visit to a village when other english speakers did not. They soon need help and this is promised in the form of a mission trip by a supporting american church. But then there is a suicide bombing and the trip is cancelled. Audra becomes pregnant with her forth child and flies back to america to have the baby but then heir are complications. Audra learns something of the heart of God through this time.
Read this book if you want to be culturally aware but also read it to hear how God works through us.
I have two minor complaints. First I would have liked to have heard some perspective from the male viewpoint even if just snippets. Second I want to know what happened next.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
This is a really good book. It's so wonderful to know that there are those who would give up certain luxuries to take this great gospel of Jesus to those who are less fortunate.
Well done!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Very captivating .reading this book I now pray for missionaries most especially in Muslims country. God bless and keep this family. I wonder if they are still living in Yemen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Interesting story on a family who gave up their life to help others less fortunate than themselves. Easy to read, well written and very informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
My first thoughts were - why?? Why take your small children to live in Yemen? But the book answers all that and I found myself fascinated by the lifestyle they immerse themselves in.
Includes some sad parts - facts of life for that part of the world unfortunately, but well done to them for going there and sharing more than just their beliefs.

Well written and easy to read - recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
Have just finished reading this book. It is a lovely, well written book which, once started, was hard to put down. It gives a good insight to how the women of Yemen live. I also liked the fact that the author has included lots of Arabic words & phrases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Really easy to read, lots of detail about the culture and making decisions to move to Yemen. Great testimonies.

Would have appreciated more from the ending, but really enjoyed reading it.

Gets me excited for mission.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Reading this book after "Face to Face with God" (which was the most amazing book I have ever read), I found this a complete let down and uninspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Arrived very promptly. Unfortunately cannot comment on the story of the book as it was a gift! . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)