Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 March 1999
This is a very "to the point" "let's get it done" quick look at guitar and amp maintenance. The guitar section is great especially for novice users who may not be familiar with how to setup, clean and string guitars. How to remove pits, small scrapes and gashes. How to set intonation and bridge (even for archtops) Wiring diagrams for all common guitar models. The appendix includes common Tube names and substitutions and the has a description of how tubes work. How to work safely on a tube amp, draining caps, replacing tubes, microphonics, how to look for problems without killing yourself. Couple small sections on SolidState amps. Whole book is full of pictures. Good all around reference for the musician. May not be enough for the professional and/or amp builder.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2017
If you enjoying getting to know the technical side, the in and outs of your instrument

then this is for you. I can't remember why I bought this, but I later gave it to a friend who absolutely loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2017
Lots of good information, delivered early and would recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2008
I have to agree with 'A Customer' on this. A very concise, easy-to-read and humorous guide offering a wide range of maintenance tips for the most popular types of guitar set up. It includes some very good tips on setting correct restringing techniques for 3-a-side and 6-in-a-row tuners, string height, intonation, bridge settings (for fixed, floating and Floyd Rose) and nut settings - all the things a tech would charge you for but are essential to know yourself. There's also more general tips on stuff like fret filing, cosmetic stuff like cleaning and polishing guitars.
Understandably there's not a lot to say about maintaining solid state amps (due to the 'no user servicable parts inside' clause) but there's some great info on basic valve amp maintenance such as how to discharge lethal caps before tinkering inside and valve biasing. There's also a concise and invaluable part about calculating correct impedances to match cabs and output transformers.

All in all a great little handbook with some essential tips inside.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2010
I actually got this second-hand - lucky me ! It certainly gives the guitarist a damn good insight into the workings of a guitar and amplifier, it explains in everyday words HOW TO....... look after, fix and even re-build not just your guitar but your amp as well. - full of tips and explanations - just Excellent !!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2014
If you could only have one book to cover this broad subject matter, then this would be adequate. But it would be far better to buy two books, one focusing on amps and the other focusing on guitars. Of necessity, this book has to cover some topics rather thinly. The layout is rather odd, which I suspect is because the publisher is more used to music engraving than to laying out technical manuals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2010
Great book,has some very handy tips, mainly about guitars not so much about amplifiers and it is basic in some respects but overall a very good book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2013
I found this quite useful as a consolidated source of useful info before I went online and did a lot of searching. Electronics doesn't scare me but the wiring for guitars and amps seemed a bit weird and opaque - Yes the Internet now has loads of information on it but its nice sometimes to have a book of it all at once. One problem with the book is that it is in black and white so it doesn't show circuit diagrams very well. I think with augmentation from the internet this is pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
They say a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it is way better than complete ignorance. This guide will impart enough accurate and useful advice to enable anybody with the coordination and the sense to play guitar to extract that bit more from their axe, and, hopefully, to know when they need to seek professional assistance (or a more compendious guide).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2012
I bought this book mainly for the "AMP" side of things and I have found this very helpful in understanding how they work and how to stay safe. A very good buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)