Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2011
A film that's sidesplitting, gentle and yet exciting and dreamlike...There are not enough children's films like this. I feel sorry for children today, growing up with Spy Kids and Harry Potter with their tedious empowerment fantasies and whining. Pee-Wee's Big Adventure will spellbind everyone but the most cynical and idiotic with it's instantly engaging story and characters: names of characters such as Dottie (in love with Pee-Wee Herman), Francis Buxton (pronounced BUCKS - TONNE) and Simone (she wants to go to France) tell you all you need to know about the characters.
The film, in fact, feels like a fourth or fifth in a series with self-evident characters and a huge emphasis on the surreal and inexplicable (some intentional - the way Pee-Wee gains enterance to the Buxton house, some not - the remnants of Amazing Larry's role in the film), which only enhances the films value for repeat viewers. I am totally in love with the world of this film and you will be too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Great dvde as good as I remembered having watched it a long long time ago on video was so glad to know it was still available . The best scene still is in the bikers bar and Pee-Wee entertaining them to save his skin I cried with laughter .The price was a bit higher than some dvds but it is a classic well worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
You really need to be in the right mood to fully enjoy and appreciate the qualities of this film, Burton's first feature as director following his tour of duty as a Disney animator. His film-making apprenticeship is certainly reflected in this debut outing, a bright and hugely colourful zany comedy made in the style of a feature cartoon. Some of the set-pieces are truly original and brimming with vitality and off-beat humour. But you have to be at ease with the character of the eponymous hero, a grown-up body encompassing the soul and behaviour of a ten-year old, and an exaggerated ten-year old at that. Clearly there was sufficient interest in the character created by Reubens ...to spawn a sequel, "Big Top Pee-Wee". If you are unable to assimilate his creation into your sympathy, his adventures become galling as a result of his very screen presence and it is likely that the visual delights of the film will be lost to you. However, if you can accept Pee-Wee into your heart, you will be able to enjoy a hugely entertaining, at times very funny, and certainly very original picture bathed in a vividness and colourfulness which contrasts so markedly with the same director's "Batman", only four years later.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2000
This is much more than a story about a 'boy' who loses his favourite possesion - his bike - and goes on a desperate quest to retrieve it. As with all early Pee-Wee Herman work, it has an energetic, imaginative approach with a comically infantile yet twisted feel to the humour, which is blatently meant to appeal to adults. This is most certainly the best of the two Pee-Wee Herman films.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2008
i have wanted this movie for an age as i am a massive tim burton fan i was concerned at first that i wouldnt like this movie cause when i was a kid didn't really like pee wee but now as an adult can see the adult humur in it. this film is beautiful as is every single burton movie you can really see his craft in this movie even though it was his first feature film an alround great family film my kids love it since we bought it have had it on at least ten times and weve only had it a week and there is stuff that is funny tenth time round well recomend getting this for you and or your family it is a lost treasure and every burton fan needs this in there collection
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Tim Burton's first comedy film and debut which stars Paul Reubens as childlike adult Pee Wee Herman that also the talents of the director by giving his own style in the style. This was the first collaboration he had with composer Danny Elfman who would later on compose countless times for Burton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
Have watched this lots of times and I'm always laughing my head off! So glad I paid the extra cash to get this version (Spanish with English audio option) as opposed to waiting for the uk release!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
Bought for my partner,very silly, very funny, particularly Pee Wee doing the 'Tequila' dance in the biker bar, genius! Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
It was okay but for the simple fact that the dvd was French which the advert did not say ,so had to do various menus to get the English language on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Great film, it's one of my favourites comedies and please can this be on UK format because nobody in the UK knows Pee wee Herman is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)