Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 27 June 2015
Included here are both the extended director's cut -2000 version and the theatrical cut-1973 version, both look and sound amazing considering how old this film is. They've both been re-mastered on two 50gb discs and they've never looked better. I won't go into the extras because there are so many you will be spoilt for choice and there are websites more able than me to go into great detail. All in all a lovely package, oh and did I mention the digibook booklet and a 'personal' message from William Friedkin!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2008
I won't attempt to review the films as that's been done already.
This package is great value despite the slightly tacky marketing. If you've never seen The Exorcist or The Shining or they are absent from your horror film collection it's well worth a look.
The extras are great, revealing on both the realisation and reinterpretation of two classic horror novels by auteur directors at the peak of their powers who push the technical aspects of film making as hard as they push their actors. Both films have been remastered into 5.1 stereo and look in great shape.
Be warned that The Shining is the shorter version that Kubrick cut down for the UK audience after negative criticsm on it's US release. I'm personally undecided as to which version is better, having seen them both.
The Exorcist is likewise the shorter Theatrical version, but the cut scenes are on the extras side of the two sided DVD. Again, I'm not sure that this isn't a bad thing.
I'd certainly recommend anyone interested in the evolution of the horror film to check these out. They come from an era of high budget horror film making from before the slasher genre became so dominant, and both offer rich subtexts to be mulled over whilst succeeding as glossy entertainment with a few shocks and scares along the way.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2016
I remember watching this on VHS tape many years ago and found it well worth watching. Watching it today it is still great but the acting seems dated and is a bit slow, but the horror scenes stand the test of time. People complain about the 'C' word being used to much today, so back in 1973 it must have been shocking. Still I must say this is a film for any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2016
Seen this film many years ago, when i was under the age of 18, naughty me. That was on VHS. Glad to get the DVD of it now. Plus all the extra's that are on the DVD make it worth the price of just under £5 worth what i paid. One of the best horror films Ive ever seen. Puts other horrors made around that time and even after to shame,. great plot. Great acting. Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2012
Wow! If you own a blu ray player buy this movie, you will not be disappointed. Both versions are here on this 2 disc set, theatrical and director's cut. Still can't make up my mind which one is best, although the original theatrical version probably comes out top. One thing for sure is that the remastering of both versions is absolutely first class, from the opening scene at the dig to the earie coldness of Regan's room. STUNNING!!! It's like watching it again for the first time. This is what blu ray is all about! Go for it, you won't regret it. :o)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2017
Edited to bits. Almost nothing that made this a great horror movie remains. We could watch it in the 70s but not today, apparently.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2017
This still has the same creepy effect on you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2017
One of the best films ever made , and my favourite . A classic tale I recommend to any viewer after seeing film to read the book also.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2010
The Exorcist has just got even scarier: so many things have already been said about this film over the years, but this film still has shock value on repeated viewings.Having just watched my new Blue-ray version a new film has emerged, so much more detail and sound, Warner have done a good transfer on this considering it is 37 yrs old.Am biased though because this is my number 1 horror/psychological film, even Barry Norman made it is no 1. No matter how many times I watch this it still gets me, I will never go in the attic again looking for rats with a candle,and that chilling line(father Will help and old alter boy)Groundbreaking stuff back in the seventies, so many horror films come & go but this still remains the best. Just buy it you won't be disappointed with the Blue-Ray version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
best of the best horror movies
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse