Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 2 March 2015
I had hoped for a book that took the steps in editing a movie and described how you did it with iMovie. This simply leads you through the interface nd menus and options and explains what they do. Blah. I can do that without a book. The most telling thing is that it dives straight in assuming that you know what an "event" and a "project" are - if you don't you won't get far with the rest of the book. The top result on YouTube under iMovie tutorial is a thousand times better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
ok but not great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2016
Simply read .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2015
My iMovie ( published Mar 2014)
Before reviewing this book it is important for you to check which version of iMovie is on your Mac or iPad or iPhone before assessing if this book is for you – irrespective of my comments.
Since early 2013 Apple have “ upgraded” their OS-X operating systems ( and the included iLife Apps - including iMovie) several times from OS-X Mountain Lion to Mavericks to Yosemite and , at the time of writing ( Oct 2015) are introducing El Capitan. This is a (IMHO) hell bent obsession to integrate Mac computers with iPads and iPhones – good commercially but a real irritation to those trying to use consistent systems and who may not have the other Apple products. One casualty is that iPhoto / Aperture has been replaced by “Photos” ( losing the “Events” of iPhoto) and previous iMovie projects may also be affected – anyone upgrading should check out the changes and the implications for older saved material.
This book is some 210 pages , there are others like “The missing manual range ( David Pogue also 2014 ) at 432 pages so evidently differing levels of content are covered in different books . There are also excellent U tube videos – the latest covering up to 2015.
I am ( relatively) new Mac ( iMac and MacBook Air) and totally new to iMovie. I bought the book as a “ newbie” ( having just purchased an iMac – with the usual dire Apple (lack of) literature included) and have gradually appreciated how much Apple has changed the scene. Not sure how well these “ textbooks” have kept up
To the book
It starts with a tour of the iMovie screens but does not , initially , define “Event” or” Project”.
It moves (Ch 1) onto customising the settings and preferences without showing how to use the product with the default settings Hmmm. This customisation would be better after learning (basically) how to import clips , where they are stored then selecting creating a project and importing clips onto the timeline. We get to actually importing in Ch.2 and creating a project in Ch 3.
Ch4-8 The nitty gritty of editing. It is ( nearly) all here if you work at reading it over and over
Ch 9 – Trailers – OMG do you really think you are Hollywood?
Ch10 – Sharing/uploading to Social Media ( Email , iTunes, You Tube, Facebook , Vimeo , CNN ireport) or to the hard disk .Evidently the priority these days and should be popular with the owners of iPhone/iPads – Nothing about burning off to DVD’s or Blu ray however nor any links to necessary software. ( Apple has all but abandoned the DVD – except for it’s USB superdrive)
Ch 11 – Using iMovie on iPhones and iPads – for the “Selfie” generation with the latest equipment versions . I am aware that some great high quality movie material has been shot on iPhone 6 so I don’t knock it.
So the book -
What is good – it picks out problems / changes relative to previous versions of iMovie ( but is also out of date itself relative to iMovie on OS-X Yosemite and El Capitan) . The visuals are excellent in terms of screen shots ( so long as they haven’t changed from 2014)
What is not so good - Order of presentation , not starting at basics , The book relies almost exclusively on the use of menus and “ drag and drop” and barely mentions keyboard shortcuts, for importing still shots it still refers to the ( defunct) iPhotos and doesn’t show how “ Photos” differs ( if at all
I have considerable sympathy with authors trying to keep up with Apple . I dare say that I will come to like the book more with time after viewing the latest U Tube videos as well . principles should not change even if the detail does.
I have given the book a 3 star rating ( assuming the content is relevant to your OS system ) which I my up or downgrade with time .
Whatever you choose to do re purchase of this book – check out the online (free) U tube videos first.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2015
Excellent guide to a great program
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2015
Excellent manual for those trying to fathom the interface of iMovie v 10.0.6. Well laid out, step by step colour diagrams and photos. The book doesnt assume you are a 16 year computer geek with nothing better to do than to publish incoherent You Tube videos telling you have to use iMovie.

Handy A5 size (6" x 9"). I have years of family etc movies in various formats languishing on my hard drive. This book has allowed me to start to processing all these files into watchable and useful movies.
5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2016
Amazingly good. Progressions for all types of music, mostly popular. Thousands of examples. How to use basic progressions. How to alter them. After reading, chord patterns no longer seem random, but can be seen to follow patterns with a certain logic. The book will not sit well on a music stand but was not intended for that. Not a big problem. Perfect for songwriters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2014
very informative, easy to follow and helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2014
Just 20 pages in so far - very good help
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)