Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 September 2017
This is ESSENTIAL for web people and all those who deal with them.

READ THIS BOOK IF: you need quick tips for building a useful, functional website with clear copy. You run a business and are setting up a content team. You work in any department and wonder why you're at odds with the digital team.

I'm a content writer and this is a must-have for any - EVERY -digital media professional. Especially those of you having to regularly defend your decisions to a business that cares not for UX... guess that's all of you, then!

This book needs updating more often, but the fact that it can get away with a once-a-decade refresh shows that wisdom is timeless. It shows that the user-centred approach wins out over pure design and copy flights of fancy, and capricious business whims, every time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2017
Even the author says that this book just states the bleedin' obvious and he's not wrong. But it articulates it well and prescribes practical ideas for what to do with that 'obvious'.

If you produce any content or design that is seen by other people then you should read this book. Even if you're already doing half of what it suggests, there will still be something in it of value.

I can't believe I took so long to buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 1 March 2010
This is the best book on the subject that I have ever read. It points out the very kinds of usability issues that I, as someone who has worked in this area of business, has tried and failed to make developers understand.

It makes a very simple point - by designing a web user interface that is logical, simple, clear, intuitive, helpful and robust, people will find them easier to use, have fewer problems, will need less documentation/help, will come back, and will have a positive view of you and your products.

It is so full of logic and startling truth, I found myself yelling "yeah!" a few times at what it had to say. To put it another way, if you think that it's focus on the obvious is, well, all too obvious for you to have not already noticed, then think again!

If there is one book I would impore developers to read (no matter what software they develop) it would be this. It should be mandatory reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2017
I firstly read it at the university and now I bought it.
Despite of the old version of the book, this book is amazing. If everybody read it once, sucking powerpoint presentation, unwatchable websites and unusable objects would disappear from earth!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2013
I must say that I like this book a lot.
As a software engineer, which creates both web and desktop apps, I gained a lot of valuable information.
Even though it's from 2005, I definitely recommend it to anyone.
It's very short (200 relaxed pages), thus just a weekend reading, but very nice.
I would really like a version from 2013 with some updates, but most of the things Krug talks about will never become outdated.
5+
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2016
Really easy to process book on usability. This is good for a quick read as its explained really really well. Try it on a train or plane for sure you will find it nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2008
There's no point is adding my voice to the many other positive reviews here. It's a complete no-brainer that any one involved in web site build or maintentance - be they designer, developer or business stakeholder - should read and digest this book, not just once but on a regular basis.

BUT ... is there anyone else who has found their copy of DON'T MAKE ME THINK has fallen apart within a few weeks of moderate daily use? Shouldn't a book like this be built to withstand the regular handling that the content deserves?

Or is just that I'm heavy-handed?

AM, London
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2013
Brilliant book, can't recommend it enough. Even tho some examples are a little dated the theory is just as applicable now as it ever was so don't let that put you off.

I'd recommend anyone who's into web related industries to read this. It definitely helped change the way I think about web design and ensuring simplicity in the design process.

Nice easy read to and well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2017
Brilliant wide-angle view on UX. You will need more specialised case study texts to build a project culture. However, I use quotes from this book to sell UX into new clients to explain how fundamental it is. Krug is the standout thought-leader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2010
If you work in IT then this is one of those must-have classic texts. It's short and to the point but everything is well explained with the help of great pictures and screenshots. Steve Krug points out all those small things which when added together can spoil the user's experience and simply send them away! It should be noted that the one website that the author holds up the most often as the best example is Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)