Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2013
I ordered this book on the same day that I ordered Motocourse 2012/13. Motocourse is acknowledged as the leader where photo standards are raised.. sadly "The Art of " does NOT follow this tradition.
To get access to these bikes is an achievement.. to then produce POOR photo's is an insult to the owners. The archive shots are fine, being historic. The studio shots are where it falls down.. they are either much too poorly lit, leading to areas of dense blackness or, it is as a result of the printing techniques used. Either way.. the photo's are simply NOT of a good enough quality at this price point.
I have other books that cover much of this subject and they are generally, considerably better. Better photographed, better lit, better produced. BETTER.!
Had I seen this in a bookshop, I would NOT have bought it.. perhaps if it had been remaindered, but not otherwise.
Not quality enough for the price. Very poor.
WF
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
FOR THOSE OF US THAT HAVE A GREAT PASSION FOR OLD VINTAGE RACING MOTORCYCLES
SUCH AS BOOKLANDS OR AN INTEREST WITH BOARD RACERS THEN THIS BOOK COULD BE OF INTEREST TO YOU ALSO.

THE PLATES STUNNING TOP CLASS IN FACT,BUT THE AUTHOR HAS PICKED AN INTERESTING RANGE OF MOTORCYCLES TO FEATURE. (NO ONE BOOK CAN SHOW THEM ALL)!HOWEVER IF OLDER MOTORCYCLES ARE YOUR PASSION AND INTEREST THEN THIS IS A GREAT COFFE TABLE BOOK TO ENJOY.

THE TEXT REGARDS TO THE INDEVIDUALS BIKE DETAILS IS QUITE GOOD, AS IT GIVE MORE DETAILS THAN MOST OF THIS TYPE OF BOOK, AT LESS THE HALF THE PRICE. THE PLATES INSIDE ARE OF GOOD QUALITY,SO THEY HAVE SPENT TIME IN PICKING THEIR SHOTS, AND LIGHTING THEIR SUBJECTS VERY WELL. SO OVERALL A VERY WELL PRESENTED AND INVESTING BOOK.

ITS MY OPINION FOR WHAT ITS WORTH ! I DO RECOMENDED THIS COFFEE TABLE BOOK ! ESPECIALY WITH THE ADDED BONUS OF BEING ABLE TO PURCHASE IT A MUCH LOWER PRICE
MADE IT EVEN MORE ENJOYABLE.

CHEERS ! ENJOYABLE READING BGK
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
I bought this book on a whim to add to my collection as have other books by the same author. Quality and photography is top draw although I feel some of the machines included should not have. Why only picture and reference in introduction of the Honda RC166 probably the most iconic racing motorcycle of its age? Nonetheless enjoyed greatly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
This book is coffee table perfection for bike enthusiasts! The text is informative, well researched and engagingly written. But what makes this book are the photographs, which are truly stunning and worth the price of admission alone.

The great thing about this book is that it walks you through racing motorbike evolution from its humble beginnings, essentially modified bicycles, through to firebreathing modern MotoGP bikes. It describes the key advances in technology, bike by significant bike, coupled with beautiful photos. And it demonstrates along the way how much modern road bikes owe racers as the testbed for all of the advances we riders now take for granted.

Whilst I am not particularly into old bikes (i ride more modern bikes), reading this book makes me want to go out and buy one!!!! Or at least dream about it...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
The book arrived promptly encased a protective plastic wrapper which was a nice touch. Once opened, I was instantly struck with the quality of the printing and sturdy binding, not seen in many similar books of this type. The text was authoratative, and engaging, giving the enthusiast loads of interesting information and historical facts upon each model, written in a narrative style that just made me want to read more. I thought the photography was excellent, reminiscent of the very best advertising pictures, making me desire each bike featured, only to be enhanced by the many archive photos showing the bikes in historic action. All in all a great read and an even better present for the classic enthusiast and newcomer alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Beautiful book, great for anyone interested in motorcycles and their history and makes a great addition to any home library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
this book is a must have for any collector it was given to me as a present the pictures are amazing a must have book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
nice pics but not a lot of technical details and inside history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Nice book with excellent photos and info. It's good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)